Te Matatini: Winner announced

Waka Huia have been named champions of Te Matatini 2013 in Rotorua.

More details to come.

Earlier story:

Competition is over and the judges are now off to make the hard decision of who will be crowned the country's top kapa haka group.

The nine top groups have just finished competing in the finals and the results will be known within the next hour.

Te Matarae I Orehu gave a powerful performance this morning and are the only Te Arawa group in the top nine.

The finals line up is made up of teams mainly from around the central North Island, East Coast and Bay of Plenty, but it includes a strong performer from Tamaki Makauru (Auckland) - Te Waka Huia, which has made every final since first appearing on stage in 1986.

Also competing today are Waihirere, Te Te Manawa Maurea and Wangara Mai Tawhiti, all from Tairawhiti (East Coast); Te Whanau a Apanui and Opotiki Mai Tawhiti from Mataatua (Bay of Plenty); and Te Pou a Mangataawhiri and Te Iti Kahurangi from Tainui (Waikato).

The Executive Director of Te Matatini Society, Darrin Apanui, said that while all of the performances over the last three days were excellent, the strength of kapa haka on the East Coast, Bay of Plenty and central North Island is shown in the line-up.

Te Matarae i Orehu are the current champions.

- Rotorua Daily Post

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 27 Apr 2017 12:36:48 Processing Time: 849ms