How MPs voted on the Death with Dignity Bill

The bill was defeated 60-57 last night. One MP abstained and two did not vote.


Paul Adams (UF)

Jim Anderton (Prog C)

Shane Ardern (Nat)

Donna Awatere Huata (Act)

Larry Baldock (United Future)

Rick Barker (Lab)

Gerry Brownlee (Nat)

David Carter (Nat)

John Carter (Nat)

Ashraf Choudhary (Lab)

Judith Collins (Nat)

Brian Connell (Nat)

Gordon Copeland (UF)

Clayton Cosgrove (Lab)

Michael Cullen (Lab)

Lianne Dalziel (Lab)

Peter Dunne (UF)

Harry Duynhoven (Lab)

Bill English (Nat)

Taito Phillip Field (Lab)

Martin Gallagher (Lab)

Mark Gosche (Lab)

Sandra Goudie (Nat)

Bill Gudgeon (NZ First)

Ann Hartley (Lab)

Phil Heatley (Nat)

Parekura Horomia (Lab)

Darren Hughes (Lab)

Paul Hutchison (Nat)

Sue Kedgley (Greens)

Annette King (Lab)

Janet Mackey (Lab)

Nanaia Mahuta (Lab)

Trevor Mallard (Lab)

Wayne Mapp (Nat)

Ron Mark (NZ First)

Craig McNair (NZ First)

Muriel Newman (Act)

Damien O'Connor (Lab)

Bernie Ogilvy (UF)

David Parker (Lab)

Mark Peck (Lab)

Jill Pettis (Lab)

Simon Power (Nat)

Katherine Rich (Nat)

Mita Ririnui (Lab)

Ross Robertson (Lab)

Tony Ryall (Nat)

Lynda Scott (Nat)

Clem Simich (Nat)

Murray Smith (UF)

Nick Smith (Nat)

Roger Sowry (Nat)

Jim Sutton (Lab)

Paul Swain (Lab)

Lindsay Tisch (Nat)

Judy Turner (UF)

Margaret Wilson (Lab)

Richard Worth (Nat)

Dianne Yates (Lab)


Marc Alexander (UF)

Tim Barnett (Lab)

David Benson-Pope (Lab)

Georgina Beyer (Lab)

Sue Bradford (Greens)

Don Brash (Nat)

Peter Brown (NZ First)

Mark Burton (Lab)

Chris Carter (Lab)

Brent Catchpole (NZ First)

Steve Chadwick (Lab)

Helen Clark (Lab)

Deborah Coddington (Act)

David Cunliffe (Lab)

Rod Donald (Greens)

Brian Donnelly (NZ First)

Helen Duncan (Labour)

Ruth Dyson (Lab)

Gerrard Eckhoff (Act)

Ian Ewen-Street (Greens)

Russell Fairbrother (Lab)

Jeanette Fitzsimons (Greens)

Stephen Franks (Act)

Phil Goff (Lab)

George Hawkins (Lab)

Dave Hereora (Lab)

Rodney Hide (Act)

Marian Hobbs (Lab)

Pete Hodgson (Lab)

Jonathan Hunt (Lab)

John Key (Nat)

Luamanuvao Winnie Laban (Lab)

Keith Locke (Greens)

Moana Mackey (Labour)

Steve Maharey (Lab)

Murray McCully (Nat)

Mahara Okeroa (Lab)

Pita Paraone (NZ First)

Edwin Perry (NZ First)

Jim Peters (NZ First)

Winston Peters (NZ First)

Lynne Pillay (Lab)

Richard Prebble (Act)

Matt Robson (Prog C)

Dover Samuels (Lab)

Ken Shirley (Act)

Lockwood Smith (Nat)

Barbara Stewart (NZ First)

Nandor Tanczos (Greens)

Georgina te Heuheu (Nat)

Judith Tizard (Lab)

Metiria Turei (Greens)

Tariana Turia (Lab)

Mike Ward (Greens)

Maurice Williamson (Nat)

Pansy Wong (Nat)

Doug Woolerton (NZ First)


Dail Jones (NZ First)


John Tamihere (Lab)

Heather Roy (Act)


Herald Feature: Euthanasia

Related links

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 29 Mar 2017 16:44:06 Processing Time: 538ms