Lawn bowlers off early


The Kaitaia Combined Bowling Club held its Veteran Pairs Tournament on Thursday, January 3.

The format for the infamous Shackletons Amcal Chemist event sees teams of two bowlers who must have 120 years on aggregate between them while the youngest player has to be at least 50 years old.

Twenty teams contested the event with some coming from afar as the Frankton Railway club in Hamilton as well as Kerikeri and more locally to do battle over four rounds of 1 hour, 10 minutes and every team receiving a bye.

Results were: Cedric Campbell and Awhi Ansley with 4 wins, 29 ends, 61 points, 1 (e.g. first); Ron Clarke and Kevin Williams 4, 27, 4, 2;

Stef Hildreth and Toto Thompson 3.5, 34, 67, 3; and, Good sports: Bob Mills and Peter Dorreen.

Organisers thanked all for participating, Stacey Reddy for providing the catering, the sponsors for their generosity, and wished everyone a happy new year.


The entries and venues for the Bowls Far North Centre's open and junior singles being played over two days this weekend, January 12 and 13, were as follows.

The juniors, at Cooper's Beach both days, were, men: Murray Pope (Coop), Kenny Mokoraka (Kaikohe), Alan Bright, Mike Reddy, Zane Beckett, Paul Burren, Brian Bellas (Comb), Clive Barnes, Dave Williams (Keri), Tony Tuoro, David Haynes, RJ Wharewaka, Chris Wharewaka, Shaun Richards (Okai), Pierre Drelaud (Russ); women: Kaye McLean, Pam Roughton (Coop), Dorothy Hardy, Olive Tahana, Adele Gardner, Pearl Tahana, Teri Stout, Ella Dorreen (Comb), Paula DuPlooy, Rebekah Papera (Keri).

Open, women (at Kaeo day one, Okaihau for finals): Dawn King, Bunty Barron (Coops), Gloria Bevan, Viv Kahi (Hoki), Maree Yovich (Kaeo), Karen Morunga, Eileen Strongman, Rose Timoko (Kaik), Judy Boag, Ellaine Albury (Keri), Kath Mudgway (Okaihau), Margaret Walters, Mary Korewha (Opo); men (at Okaihau both days): Monte Pawa, Monte Pawa senior (RSA), Cedric Campbell, Barry Allison, Tupu Campbell, Peter Dorreen, Denniis Wishnowsky, Paul Huxtable (Comb), David Hood, Ron Clark, Kevin Williams, Michael Savage (Keri), Shaun Haynes, Glenn Saunderson, Mike Fitzgerald, (Okaihau), Ian Lewis, Monty Wynyard (Opo).

Players advised to bring markers where possible.

- Northland Age

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 28 May 2017 13:37:31 Processing Time: 289ms