NZ Film Awards: Shopping picks up seven Moas

Shopping directors Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston and their flock of Moas.
Shopping directors Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston and their flock of Moas.

A coming-of-age story set on New Zealand's Kapiti Coast in the early 1980s has taken out seven Moas at the New Zealand Film Awards.

Shopping, directed by Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston, was the night's big winner, taking out gongs for best film, best director, best screenplay, best supporting actor and actress, best cinematography and best poster design.

The film, released back in May, is the first feature from Sutherland and Albiston, whose previous credits include the shorts The Six Dollar Fifty Man and Run.

In a four-star review, TimeOut editor Russell Baillie called Shopping a "compelling, picaresque, rites-of-passage movie, one which neatly builds upon the potential of the co-directors' earlier kid-powered shorts".

"With its period-perfect setting and poignantly funny depiction of brotherhood, Shopping emerges as an affecting, memorable movie that is sure to figure in local best-of-year lists," he wrote.

The other big winner at the awards ceremony, held at Auckland venue Shed 10, was Mr Pip, which saw Hugh Laurie win the Moa for best actor and Xzannjah for best actress.

The Andrew Adamson-directed film, based on Lloyd Jones' 2006 bestseller, also took home titles for best score and best costume design.

Top of the Lake was crowned best television feature or drama series, and Utu and Goodbye Pork Pie director Geoff Murphy received the Legacy Award.

The winners of the New Zealand Film Awards are chosen by a panel of industry experts.


The 2013 winners of the Rialto Channel New Zealand Film Awards:

Rialto Channel Best Film: Shopping
Flying Fish Best Director: Shopping - Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston
Apex Insurance Best Screenplay: Shopping - Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston
Villa Maria Best Actor: Mr Pip - Hugh Laurie
Villa Maria Best Actress: Mr Pip - Xzannjah
Mili Pictures Best Supporting Actor: Shopping - Julian Dennison
Mili Pictures Best Supporting Actress: Shopping - Laura Petersen
Nikon Best Self-Funded Film: Crackheads - Tim Tsiklauri and Andy Sophocleous
Niche Cameras Best Cinematography: Shopping - Ginny Loane
Mandy Best Editor: The Weight of Elephants - Molly Marlene Stensgaard
APRA Best Score: Mr Pip - Harry Gregson-Williams and Tim Finn
APRA Best Sound: Mt Zion - Dick Reade
Rodney Wayne Best Costume Design: Mr Pip - Ngila Dickson
MAC Best Makeup Design: White Lies - Abby Collins, Yolanda Bartram, Vee Gulliver, Andrew Beattie, Main Reactor and Roger Murray
Regional Film Offices NZ Best Production Design: White Lies - Tracey Collins
Letterboxd Best Poster Design: Shopping - Geoff Francis
Event Cinemas Best Self-Funded Short Film: Le Taxidermiste - Nick Mayow and Prisca Bouchet
AUT Best Short Film: Here Be Monsters - Paul Glubb, Nic Gorman and Nadia Maxwell
Allpress Best Short Film Actor: Strongman - Tony Green
Allpress Best Short Film Actress: Blind Mice - Rachel Nicholls
PLS Best Cinematography in a Short Film: Echoes - Andrew Stroud
NZ Herald Online Best Short Film Script: Echoes - Campbell Hooper and Joel Kefali
Media Design School Best Technical Contribution to a Short Film: Blankets - Visual Effects - Frank Rueter, David Duke and Bodo Keller
Telecom Business Hubs Best Documentary: Gardening With Soul - Vicky Pope and Jess Feast
PLS Best Documentary Cinematography: Antarctica: A Year On Ice - Anthony Powell
Canon Best Documentary Director: Beyond The Edge - Leanne Pooley
Lotech Best Documentary Editor: He Toki Huna: NZ in Afghanistan - Annie Goldson and James Brown
NZOnAir Best Television Feature or Drama Series: Top of the Lake - Jane Campion, Emile Sherman and Iain Canning
Lifetime Achievement Award: Geoff Murphy


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 27 May 2017 20:49:35 Processing Time: 920ms