Honours of night go to Ladyhawke

By Scott Kara

Ladyhawke scooped six awards at the Tuis. Photo / Getty Images
Ladyhawke scooped six awards at the Tuis. Photo / Getty Images

A state of 1980s delirium descended upon Vector Arena last night with electro-pop chick Ladyhawke cleaning up at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, winning six Tuis.

Her hit song, My Delirium, won single of the year, and her self-titled debut took the album of the year award against stiff competition from Wellington seven-piece Fat Freddy's Drop and Auckland rockers Midnight Youth.

The Masterton-born musician (real name Pip Brown) has been making a name for herself overseas in the past year with her album selling more than 100,000 copies in Britain and reaching gold status here and in Australia.

She also won best female solo artist, breakthrough artist, best dance/electronica album, and she shared the international achievement award with Sydney-based singer-songwriter Brooke Fraser.

Scooping so many awards is a rarity, with rapper Scribe the last artist to also win six Tuis - in 2004 off the back of The Crusader album.

It was almost a clean sweep for Ladyhawke in the categories she was up for.

However, she lost out to South Auckland hip-hop trio Smashproof in the People's Choice Award.

Smashproof also had a good night, winning video of the year and highest-selling single for Brother. This year Brother made chart history, staying at No 1 for 11 consecutive weeks.

Also acknowledged last night were Ray Columbus and the Invaders, who won the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award. The Mint Chicks paid tribute to the band by performing a version of the 1964 hit She's A Mod.

In a tribute to Howard Morrison, John Rowles sang How Great Thou Art.

Other winners included Midnight Youth for best group and best rock album for The Brave Don't Run; hip-hop soul diva Ladi6 won best urban/hip-hop album for Time Is Not Much; Savage was best male solo artist; Fat Freddy's Drop won best Aotearoa roots album for Dr Boondigga and the Big BW; best gospel/Christian album was Mumsdollar's Ruins; and best classical went to David Bremner for Gung Ho.

The highest-selling album was The feelers' The Best: 1998-2008, and radio airplay record of the year went to Tiki Taane for Always On My Mind.

Here's a full list of the winners:

Vodafone Album of the Year
Winner: Ladyhawke - Ladyhawke

The Mint Chicks - Screens
Midnight Youth – The Brave Don't Run
Cut Off Your Hands – You And I
Fat Freddy's Drop – Dr Boondigga and the Big BW

Vodafone Single of the Year
Winner: Ladyhawke – My Delirium

Midnight Youth – All On Our Own
P-Money – Everything featuring Vince Harder
Smashproof - Brother
Kids of 88 – My House

Steinlager Pure Best Group
Winner: Midnight Youth

Fat Freddy's Drop
The Mint Chicks

Vodafone People's Choice Award
Winner: Smashproof

Fat Freddy's Drop
Midnight Youth
The Black Seeds

Best Male Solo Artist
Winner: Savage

Dave Dobbyn
Don McGlashan & The Seven Sisters

Mazda Best Female Solo Artist
Winner: Ladyhawke

Boh Runga
Ladi 6

Pacific Blue Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Winner: Ladyhawke

Midnight Youth

C4 Best Music Video
Winner: Chris Graham – Brother (Smashproof)

Sam Peacocke – I Can't Stop Being Foolish (The Mint Chicks)
Tim Van Dammen – Turn Around featuring Iva Lamkum (Sola Rosa)

PPNZ Best Rock Album
Winner: Midnight Youth – The Brave Don't Run

The Mint Chicks - Screens
Cut Off Your Hands – You And I

42Below Best Urban/Hip Hop Album
Winner: Ladi 6 – Time Is Not Much

Smashproof – The Weekend
Savage – Savage Island

Kiwi FM Best Aotearoa Roots Album
Winner: Fat Freddy's Drop – Dr Boondigga and the Big BW

The Black Seeds – Solid Ground
The Woolshed Sessions – The Woolshed Sessions

Best Dance/Electronica Album
Winner: Ladyhawke – Ladyhawke

Antiform – City In Exile
Sola Rosa – Get It Together

Best Gospel/Christian Album
Winner: Mumsdollar - Ruins

Parachute Band - Technicolour
The Ember Days – EP
Primalband – Your Way

Best Classical Album
Winner: David Bremner – Gung Ho

Gareth Farr – Gareth Farr: Tangaroa
Ogen Trio and NZ Chamber Soloists - Ahi

Highest Selling NZ Single
Smashproof feat. Gin - Brother

Highest Selling NZ Album
the feelers – The Best: 1998-2008

NZ on Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year
Tiki Taane – Always On My Mind

International Achievement
Brooke Fraser

The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award
Ray Columbus and the Invaders.

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 28 Apr 2017 12:53:05 Processing Time: 968ms