NZ Cricket announces new president and director

Long-serving New Zealand Cricket board member and former test player Stephen Boock was named today as the new president of New Zealand Cricket.

His appointment was confirmed at the governing body's 118th annual meeting in Wellington today. He succeeds Denis Currie who served the maximum three one-year terms.

Boock was on the board of New Zealand Cricket from 2002-2011 after concluding a 17-year first-class playing career that included 164 matches.

The left-arm spinner also played 30 tests and 14 one-day internationals for New Zealand between 1978 and 1990.

He has a strong business background and owns a supermarket in Christchurch.

He has been heavily involved with an number of non-profit organisations, having been president of Otago Special Olympics, chairman of Otago Life Education Trust, and patron of Otago Special Olympics.

The board also appointed current Northern Districts Cricket Association chairman Greg Barclay as a new director replacing Brent King.

Barclay has a background in commercial law and is a founding principal and director of the Claymore Partners.

Originally from Gisborne he played representative cricket for Poverty Bay.

Current NZC chairman Chris Moller was re-elected after the board selection panel recommended that he retain his directorship.

Today's meeting also awarded life memberships to Currie and former chairman Alan Isaac.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 29 May 2017 17:27:44 Processing Time: 679ms