The Palmerston North Pumas stockcar team proved why they are the New Zealand champions when they dismantled the Wanganui Vulcans in a brutal contest at Wanganui's Oceanview Speedway on Saturday night.

The Vulcans had been keen to avenge their loss to the Pumas in the final last month in Palmerston North - and also anxious to get back the Roger Love Memorial Trophy which was up for grabs.

The black-bodied Pumas, however, went about their work in a very committed manner as they removed the Vulcans runners inside the first two laps with both Blair Lockett and Hilton Parker being disabled. This left the experienced Graeme Ward to streak clear with team-mate Gavin Taniwha providing valuable cover.

As much as the likes of Dion Mooney and Kyle Heibner tried to halt the Pumas lead cars, they never able to deliver the decisive blow.


Francis Potaka was able to finally nail Ward in the final lap, but Taniwha took over and sprinted for the chequered flag.

Heibner managed to bring Taniwha to a stop inches before the line but the Puma tank driver was able to edge his way across the line to take a well-deserved victory for the visitors.

The Pumas continued their dominance with Josh Prentice taking the feature, while clubmate Chevron Taniwha claimed the grand slam. Wanganui's Darryl Taylor stopped the rot by taking the first all-in race in his superstock.

The other trophy decided on the night was the Ray Purdy Memorial for production saloons with an all Wanganui field deciding matters.

John Caird claimed yet another title when he kept his nerve to fend off a strong challenge form Marshall Harris in the third and deciding heat.

As much as Harris tried to force the issue, Caird kept him in his mirrors to take the win and the overall points victory, with Steve Davie third.

In other classes, Ross Travers scored two wins and a second in the adult ministocks while Jimmy Greenough earned a brace of victories in the midget cars.