Parliament ousts Nauru's President

The President of Nauru has been ousted by Parliament.

Bernard Dowiyogo, who the Weekend Herald last month revealed was the licence-holder of a bank allegedly used for money-laundering, was defeated in a vote of no-confidence.

Under the Nauru constitution the President is elected by, and from, members of Parliament.

The new President is Rene Harris, an MP since 1977. This will be his second term.

It was Dowiyogo's sixth.

The Weekend Herald investigation uncovered documents linking the Government with banks allegedly used to launder fleeced Russian millions.

© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_n6 at 24 Sep 2014 07:13:58 Processing Time: 395ms