Hosts struggle to pick up wins


Wellington teams notch a double

Wairarapa struggled to make an impact at the Tararua Trophy quadrangular bowls tournament, played at the Masterton Bowling Club on Sunday.

They trailed the field home in the men's section, won by Wellington with 14 points. Second were Kapiti with 10, followed by Manawatu 7 and Wairarapa 5.

The late withdrawal of singles player Ian Monaghan, because of his being part of a team which eventually finished runners-up at the Taranaki fours, meant a reshuffling of the Wairarapa line-up, with Les O'Donovan taking up the singles spot, Scott MacKenzie moving from the fours to the pairs and Laurie Field coming into the fours.

The two wins for Wairarapa came from O'Donovan over his Manawatu opponent and the four of John Claydon, Graham Tindall, Richard Anderson and Field over their Kapiti counterparts. Anderson was later named winner of the Eastwood Group player of the day award

Results: Singles: Les O'Donovan lost to Wellington 12-21, lost 5-21 to Kapiti, beat Manawatu 21-17.

Pairs: Warren Fisher and Scott MacKenzie lost 12-19 to Manawatu, lost 5-32 to Wellington, lost 15-17 to Kapiti.

Fours: John Claydon, Graham Tindall, Richard Anderson and Laurie Field beat Kapiti 18-12, drew with Manawatu 13-13, lost to Wellington 6-28.

The women's competition saw Wairarapa finish in third place. Here too it was Wellington who took the honours with 13 points, followed by Manawatu 12, Wairarapa 6 and Kapiti 5.

Singles player Judith Wyeth had a comfortable 21-7 win over Kapiti while the four of Darkie Barrow, Jean Paku, Teresa Hogg and Avis Cooper also claimed the scalp of Kapiti.

Singles: Judith Wyeth lost 12-21 to Wellington, beat Kapiti 21-7, lost 16-22 to Manawatu.

Pairs: Makaia Campbell and Wendy Mitchell drew with Manawatu 17-17, lost 14-18 to Wellington, lost 12-15 to Kapiti.

Fours: Darkie Barrow, Jean Paku, Teresa Hogg and Avis Cooper beat Kapiti 15-9, drew with Manawatu 14-14, lost 9-20 to Wellington.

The B competitions were held at Lansdowne. In the men's section, it was Manawatu who prevailed with 14 points, followed by Wellington 11, Wairarapa 8 and Kapiti 3, while Wellington women topped the points table with the perfect score of 18, followed by Manawatu 8, Kapiti 6 and Wairarapa 4.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a2 at 21 Sep 2014 20:05:45 Processing Time: 1168ms