Wairarapa's best excel in NZ tourney


Wairarapa players were to the fore when New Zealand Billiards and Snooker Association held a tournament at the Masterton Cosmopolitan Club and Wairarapa Services and Citizens Club.

There were 48 entries from all over the North Island with the main championship seeing Graham Robson of Porirua defeat two-time champion Dave Walker from the Wairarapa Services and Citizens Club, 3-2, in a tense final.

Another Wairarapa Services and Citizens Club player, Jack Lemon won the consolation plate from Donald Faiumu (Petone Workingmen's Club), while the plate final saw John Birchall (Wairarapa Services and Citizens Club) beat Goff Moorcock (Masterton Cosmopolitan Club).

The flight final was won by John Rehman from Auckland's Commercial Club against Keith Johnstone.

In local snooker, the Southey Honda interclub league has been completed with Cossie B taking the honours from Cossie C. Third-equal were Cossie A and Masterton, followed by Services A and Services B.

The Southey Honda singles championship was won by Bruce Alderson from Masterton Cossie Club, who won from Chris Paine of Wairarapa Services and Citizens Club. The plate final featured two Cossie players with Phil Brazier beating Peter Allan.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a3 at 24 Sep 2014 14:25:10 Processing Time: 320ms