Kuipers wins in close cycle finish

Eddy Kuipers took line honours when the Masterton Cycling Club held a graded road race on the Miller's Road circuit on Tuesday night.

A brisk southeasterly wind on top of a day of showers meant temperatures on the start line at the Gladstone Church intersection were a mere 8C but a good-sized field of 43 riders were prepared to brave the conditions for what was the first graded road race of the season.

Kuiper's time of 47 minutes 17 seconds placed him just 1 second ahead of Jack Sowry, Bill Van Woerkom and Andrew Linton and close up were Mike Wilkinson, Dave Drummond and Ben Knight.

In the women's section it was Lesley Mouat who took the honours from Donna Burkhart and Julie Millar while junior division winners were Matt Gillan and Emily Luytons.

The hard luck story went to Douglas Maclachlan who was competing well with the fastest riders in C grade when a gradually softening rear tyre took its toll and he had the ignominy of being passed by slower riders from further back in the field. He finished on the rim but at least made it to the end.

Times were: Eddy Kuipers 47.17, Jack Sowry 47.18, Bill Van Woerkom 47.18, Andrew Linton 47.18, Mike Wilkinson 47.19, Dave Drummond 47.19, Ben Knight 47.19, Phil Sutherland 47.24, Earl Whitcombe 50.34, Steve Brown 50.35, Derek Cox 50.35, John Chesmar 50.35, Brett Tulloch 50.35, Brian Sanders 50.36, Lesley Mouat 50.36, Jeff Saywell 50.39, Mike Sutton 51.23, Paul Wallace 53.44, Mark Sowry 54.21, Donna Burkhart 54.22, Julie Millar 54.25, Brian Graham 54.26, Darren Southern 54.27, Andrew Curtis-Cody 54.27, Kerry Fitzgerald 56.21, Damien Christofis 56.21, Danny Clarkson 57.54, Sabella Thurston 58.04, Dave Howden 58.05, Chris Bunny 58.05, Dave Hodder 58.25, Matt Gillan 58.25, Grant Burkhart 58.26, Jenna Mangin 58.26, Mike Parker 59.24, Richard Brooks 59.25, Simon Butler 59.46, Douglas Maclachlan 1.00.23, Viv Bunny 1.01.02, Stan Braaksma 1.02.31, Emily Luytons 1.02.39, Denise Baker 1.02.45.

Next week's event is a handicap road race over 38km, starting at Henley Lake at 6pm and taking in the Bideford Road circuit.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a2 at 01 Oct 2014 17:01:19 Processing Time: 628ms