Chorus unveils ultra-fast broadband towns

Contractors laying fibre optic cable as part of the nationwide ultra fast broadband rollout. Photo  / supplied by Chorus
Contractors laying fibre optic cable as part of the nationwide ultra fast broadband rollout. Photo / supplied by Chorus

Listed infrastructure company Chorus has revealed what towns and suburbs it will roll out ultra-fast broadband over the next few years.

The company, which is building the lion-share of the Government's fibre internet scheme, today confirmed rollout plans for July 2014 to June 2016.

By the end of this period, Chorus hopes to have deployed fibre through 57 per cent of the regions where it is the Government's build partner.

The company is one of the four firms which have joined with the Government for the internet scheme, which the taxpayer is putting $1.5 billion towards.

Northpower is responsible for the scheme in Whangarei while UltraFast Fibre is rolling out fibre in the central North Island and Enable Networks is driving the build in Christchurch. The programme will offer 75 per cent of New Zealanders download speeds of 100Mb a second by the end of 2019.

Chorus' UFB deployment plans from July 2014 to June 2016:


some areas in Orewa, Red Beach, Whangaparaoa, Silverdale, Manly, Gulf Harbour, Torbay, Pinehill, Browns Bay, Northcross, Fairview Heights, Rothesay Bay, Murrays Bay, Mairangi Bay, Campbells Bay, Castor Bay, Milford, Greenhithe, Huapai, Kumeu, Hobsonville, Beach Haven, Hill Crest, Northcote, Massey, Te Atatu Peninsula, Chatswood, Birkenhead, Northcote Point, Bayswater, Belmont, Narrow Neck, Devonport, Stanley Point, Swanson, Ranui, Henderson, Kelston, New Lynn, Avondale, Point Chevalier, Western Springs, Grey Lynn, Mt Eden, Epsom, Parnell, Newmarket, Orakei, Mission Bay, Kohimarama, Saint Heliers, Glendowie, Glen Innes, Saint Johns, Meadowbank, Remuera, Eastern Beach, Mellons Bay, Howick, Highland Park, Half Moon Bay, Cockle Bay, Shelly Park, Golflands, Pakuranga Heights, Pakuranga, Dannemora, East Tamaki Heights, Flat Bush, Beachlands, Otara, Mt Wellington, Penrose, Otahuhu, Mt Roskill, Three Kings, Mt Albert, Titirangi, Blockhouse Bay, Hillsborough, Onehunga, Clover Park, The Gardens, Manurewa, Clendon Park, Takanini, Papakura, Pahurehure, Rosehill, Red Hill, Drury and Panmure.

Pukekohe: some areas in North and Central Pukekohe.

Waiuku: some areas in North and South Waiuku.

Waiheke Island: some areas in Oneroa, Surfdale, Ostend and Onetangi.

Rotorua: some areas in Ngongotaha, Holdens Bay, Owhata, Lynmore, Ngapuna, Glenholme, Westbrook, Springfield, Western Heights, Pukehangi and Kawaha Point.

Taupo: some areas in Wharewaka, Rainbow Point, Richmond Heights, Hilltop and Nukuhau.

Whakatane: large parts of the Whakatane township.

Gisborne: some areas in Okitu, Outer Kaiti, Tamarau, Wainui, Inner Kaiti, Te Hapara, Awapuni and Riverdale.

Napier/Hastings: some areas in Bluff Hill, Ahuriri, Napier South, Marewa, Onekawa, Maraenui, Pirimai, Tamatea, Greenmeadows, Taradale, Flaxmere, Raureka, Mahora, North and North East Havelock North.

Feilding: large parts of Feilding.

Palmerston North: some areas in Kelvin Grove, Whakarongo, Roslyn, Terrace End, Hokowhitu, West End, Awapuni, Cloverlea.

Levin: large parts of Levin.

Masterton: some areas in Solway, Lansdowne, Kuripuni, and some Eastern and Western areas.

Kapiti Coast: some areas in Waikanae, Raumati Beach and Central and Eastern areas of Paraparaumu.

Wellington including Porirua, Upper and Lower Hutt: some areas in Paekakariki, Pukerua Bay, Plimmerton, Titahi Bay, Paramata, Whitby, Waitangirua, Porirua East, Tawa, Grenada Village, Johnsonville, Paparangi, Churton Park, Newlands, Ngauranga, Khandallah, Ngaio, Kelburn, Northland, Central Wellington Business District, Te Aro, Aro Valley, Mount Cook, Mount Victoria, Oriental Bay, Roseneath, Hataitai, Newtown, Maupuia, Mirimar, Seatoun, Moa Point, Lyall Bay, Brooklyn, Korokoro, Maungaraki, Alicetown, Petone, Woburn, Fairfield, Belmont, Epuni, Avalon, Naenae, Taita, Stokes Valley, Silverstream, Trentham, Elderslea, Kingsley Heights and Clouston Park.

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 26 May 2017 00:36:40 Processing Time: 366ms