The Crusaders have been overlooked in the Super Rugby team of the season unveiled by governing body Sanzaar.

Despite three New Zealand teams reaching the semi-finals, there are only six Kiwi players among the tournament XV.

That includes a lone forward, Ardie Savea, who is one of three Hurricanes in the team.

The Crusaders won 17 of 18 games as they marched to an eighth title but none of their players have won the nod in a side selected largely on statistical output.


The Sanzaar player of the year for a second straight season is Chiefs fullback Damian McKenzie, who led the competition in several attacking categories.

Sanzaar's Super Rugby team of the season: Damian McKenzie (Chiefs), Cheslin Kolbe (Stormers), Samu Kerevi (Reds), Ngani Laumape (Hurricanes), James Lowe (Chiefs), Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes), Augustine Pulu (Blues), Amanaki Mafi (Rebels), Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), Jaco Kriel (Lions), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Guido Petti Pagadizabal (Jaguares), Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Jacques van Rooyen (Lions).