ASB Christchurch Marathon, Cathedral Square - 4 June 2017

Ciaran Faherty, second to Dougal Thorburn last year, returned to win the annual race in 2:24:11. The Auckland based chef moved from Galway Ireland three years ago and the 29 year old has built up an impressive record in a short time which includes victories in the Wellington marathon and the New Plymouth Mountain to Surf marathon in a PB 2:22:00 last year. He was third in last years Rotorua Marathon and fourth in last years Auckland Marathon. Scott Russell, on debut, was second in 2:24:37 and early leader Hirotaka Tanimoto was third in a PB 2:27:51 after finishing third in last years Auckland Marathon. Racing in cold, wet conditions Faherty and Tanimoto led by two minutes at 10km and Faherty eased ahead of Tanimoto shortly after 32km.

Hannah Oldroyd won the womens marathon in 2:55:49 from Lisa Brignull 3:08:14 and Julia Grant 3:10:47. Grant was fourth last year in 2:59:03.

Daniel Balchin won the mens half marathon in 1:07:26 from Aaron Pulford 1:08:03 and Nick Rennie 1:09:12. Triathlete Andrea Hewitt won the womens half marathon in 1:16:22, just two seconds ahead of Jess Ruthe with last years winner Olivia Burne third in 1:19:15. Hewitt who is currently in second place on the International Triathlon Union world series rankings, used the half marathon as a training exercise ahead of the European legs of the series.

Last years half winner Oska Inkster-Baynes had to call on all his reserves to outsprint Caden Shields to win the 10km in 30:31. Shields clocked a PB 30:33 and Ben Musson second last year in 31:28 was third in 31:24. Jean Kozyniak ran a PB by 25 seconds of 37:23 to win the womens 10km in 37:23 from Natalie Dryden 38:26 and Samantha Owles 38:41.

Alex Woodward won the half walk in 1:52:57 with Judith Crozier the first woman in 2:42:59. Jonathon Lord won the 10km walk in 51:26 with Rozie Robinson the first woman in 53:32.

Over 4000 took part.


16th European Athletic Festival, Bydgoszcz, 1 June: Katherine Camp 600m 1:28.33 PB (3). Won by Joanna Jźwik of Poland in 1:26.74.


Nijmegen Global Athletics Meeting, Gelderland, 2 June: Camille Buscomb ran a PB 15:19.81 for third in the 5000m. This betters her previous best of 15:28.78 from the night of fives on the North Shore in December 2015 and moves her from seventh to fifth on the New Zealand womens all-time list and is under the B standard of 15:24 for the London World Championships and just outside the A standard of 15:18. Stella Chesang of Uganda won in 15:17.91 from compatriot Mercelyne Chelangat 15:18.52.

Matthew Manning 1500m 3:44.89 PB (8RB), Ben Moynihan 1500m 3:47.86 (12RB).


Pat Young Throwers Classic, Hartnell College Salinas CA, 28 May: Marshall Hall DT 59.47m (4).

Martinez Classic, Emerson Field, Concord MA, 1 June: Simon Rogers mile 4:06.64 PB (10).

Adidas Boost Boston Games, Dilboy Stadium Somerville Boston MA 2 June: Angie Petty 800m 2:01.73 (5) (400m 59.32). Won by Charlene Lipsey USA 1:59.57. Hamish Carson 1500m 3:42.26 (10), won by Chris OHare GB 3:39.31.


Putbos Memorial Leon Buyle Flanders Cup Meeting, Oordegem-Lede, 3 June: Michael Cochrane 400m H 50.67 (2H1).


IAAF Race Walking Challenge, Gran Premio, La Coruna, 3 June: Alana Barber 20km RW 1:35:37 (15). Barber holds the New Zealand national record of 1:32:50.


Pre-Departure Meeting, Campbeltown NSW, 20 May: Warren Button HT 54.71 (2).

AV and VRWC, Middle Park Melbourne, 27 May: Quentin Rew 10km RW 44:12 (2).

Melbourne 16km Cross Country, Langwarrin Vic, 27 May: Ben Ashkettle 50:24 (7).


Peter Jack of Wellington received the Queens Service Medal for services to sport, particularly athletics. He has actively contributed to the welfare and growth of amateur athletics and club rugby in Wellington for 50 years. He has been heavily involved with athletics in the Wellington area as a competitor, coach, official, organiser and administrator since 1964. He has been a key player in the development of the Kiwi Athletic Club and has held many positions since 1966, including Chairman and President. In 1990 he was awarded Life Membership in recognition of his contributions to the Club. Since 1980 he has been directly involved in Athletics Wellington and has helped with coaching, fundraising and administration. He was awarded an Athletics Wellington Long Service Award and Life Membership in 1995. He has officiated at Wellington and New Zealand Senior Athletics Championships for a wide range of events for more than 34 years.

Rod Sutherland of Masterton received the Queens Service Medal for services to athletics, cycling and the community. He has been a member of Athletics and Cycling Masterton (ACM) for 58 years and has been a member of the ACM committee and has assisted with the running of the Wairarapa Country Marathon and other local events over the years. He has been involved in a range of projects including the building of the Kids Own Playground, the Masterton Intermediate School reading programme, and organising up to three club teams to participate in the Round Taupo Cycle race. Mr Sutherland assisted with the formation of the Millennium Reserve and has raised funds for equipment to maintain the Reserve.

Mark Edmonds of Rotorua received the Queens Service Medal for services to sport. He has trained athletes in Rotorua for more than 30 years on a voluntary basis and he started off training himself and his family after being a keen runner for many years. He's run 16 Rotorua marathons in a row and early in his career as a volunteer coach trained marathon and long distance runners. He has since trained athletes across many different sporting codes including athletics, triathlon, rugby, rowing, hockey and netball. As his reputation as a trainer grew he was invited to work as a fitness trainer with national and representative athletes and teams.



Paihia Half Marathon, 4 June: Julian Ng 1:24:56, Daniel Thompson 1:28:03, Jon Turner 1:28:27. Amy Howse 1:38:19, Katie McVerry 1:41:32, Lois Buchanan 1:45:49. Walk; Roslyn Sutherland 2:31:39.


Mt Joggers and Walkers 31st Half Marathon, 4 June: Kyle Macdonald 1:14:10, Garit Read 1:16:32, Kunaal Rajpal 1:16:46. Margie Campbell 1:21:06, Jess Walley 1:26:42, Malesa McNearney 1:32:00. Walk; Penny Purcell 2:18:31, Martin Poppelwell 2:29:16. 10km; Regan Bones 34:59, Brendon Keenan 37:31, Sarah Gardner 37:45, Jessie Speedy 40:44, Fleur Walter 41:10, Sean Curragh 41:34.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand