The Black Sticks Men will play in South Africa while the Black Sticks Women head to Belgium for the Hockey World League Semi-Finals next year.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has confirmed which teams will be taking part in each of the events being played in England, Belgium and South Africa in June and July 2017.

Two mens and two womens Semi-Finals, which are Hockey World Cup 2018 qualifiers, will take place at these three locations between 15 June and 23 July.

Ten teams will take part in each Semi-Final, with the first six now confirmed based on their current FIH Hero World Ranking.

Four more teams will qualify for each Semi-Final from the Hockey World League Round 2 events taking place between January and April 2017.

The first womens Semi-Final will see the Black Sticks compete at the Stade Fallon in Brussels from 21 June - 2 July.

As runners up from the last edition, New Zealand are up against reigning world champions Netherlands, hosts Belgium, Australia, China and Korea.

The Black Sticks Men will be among 10 teams to descend on Randburg Hockey Stadium in Johannesburg between 8-23 July in the last of the Semi-Finals.

The mens event will be contested between New Zealand, defending champions Australia, Olympic silver medallists Belgium, Olympic bronze medallists Germany, Spain and hosts South Africa.

Composed of four rounds and played over two years, the Hockey World League shines a spotlight on the sport around the world.

Whilst vital FIH Hero World Ranking points will be awarded depending on final standings, the top teams from each Semi-Final will qualify for the 2018 Hockey World Cups in India (men) and England (women) in addition to the Hockey World League Finals taking place in India (men) and New Zealand (women) later in 2017.

Hockey World League Semi-Finals


Johannesburg, South Africa (8-23 July 2017)

New Zealand, Australia, Germany, Belgium, Spain, South Africa + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

London, England (15-25 June 2017)

Argentina, Netherlands, India, England, Korea, Pakistan + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.


Brussels, Belgium (21 June - 2 July 2017)

New Zealand, Netherlands, Australia, China, Korea, Belgium + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Johannesburg, South Africa (8-23 July 2017)

England, Argentina, USA, Germany, Japan, South Africa + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Hockey NZ