Throws Spring Series, AUT Millennium, North Shore - 24 September 2016

Mellata Tatola, national youth womens discus throw champion and silver medallists in the shot put and hammer throw, set a PB in the 3kg HT with 55.86m and in the 4kg HT with 47.30m. Alexander Parkinson DT 50.14m, Anthony Nobilo 5kg HT 63.87m and 6kg HT 55.01m PB. Nick Hailes 5kg HT 53.83m, Anthony Barmes 5kg HT 52.13m.

Devonport Half Marathon, incorporating Athletics Auckland Half Marathon Championship, Windsor Reserve - 25 September 2016

Andrius Ramonas from Lithuania won in 1:16:34 from Takapunas Brad Luiten who ran 1:17:04. Mark Paterson was third in 1:21:34. Heavy rain fell throughout the event. Nancy Jiang of Hamilton was the first woman in 1:24:50, from Marisa Ruhter 1:30:07 and Katherine Morgan 1:30:23. Robyn Swager won the 15km in 1:02:57. Aaron Jackson was second in 1:04:29 and Gary Chadwick third in 1:04:53. Vitek Toman won the 10km in 39:12.


City to Surf 12km, Tauranga - 25 September 2016

Craig Kirkwood was the mens winner in 37:33 from Kyle Macdonald 37:40 and Samuel Tanner 39:22. Alice Mason took out the womens race in 40:59 with Margie Atthow 41:58 and Ali Wilson 43:21 filling the minor placings.


Primary and Intermediate Schools Inter-Regional Cross Country Competition, Waikanae Park, Waikanae - 22 September 2016

Canterbury won the Phil Costley Shield as the overall top region beating Wellington, who have won it for the past three years, Tasman and South Canterbury. Winners of the 3km races, Yr8 boys Will Anthony (W) 10:19, girls Rosa Blake (C) 11:48. Yr7 boys Alex Martin (W) 10:57, girls Maia Wilkinson (W) 11:37. 2km races Yr 6 boys Jack Hunter (W) 7:03, girls Millie Jenkins (W) 7:44. Yr5 boys Angus Sevier (C) 7:28, girls Akiko Omori (C) 7:43.


43rd BMW Berlin Marathon - 25 September 2016

London based Paul Martelletti finished 20th in 2:16:58, just nine seconds outside his personal best set in the Berlin marathon in 2011 where he was 14th. The 37 year old software developer was through the half way in 1:08:42. The race produced an exciting finish with triple Olympic champion Kenenisa Bekele of Ethiopia outkicking Kenyas Wilson Kipsang over the final 2km to win in 2:03:03, just six seconds off Dennis Kimettos world record. Kipsang was second in 2:03:13 and Evans Chebet of Kenya third in 2:05:31. Aberu Kebede of Ethiopia won her third Berlin womens title in 2:20:45. Over 50 New Zealanders took part in the marathon.


Great North Run Half Marathon, South Shields, 11 September: Paul Martelletti 1:05:23 (11).


ITU Aquathlon World Championships, Cozumel - 14 September 2016

Nicole Mitchell, formerly Wellington Scottish and now Hamilton City Hawks won the 20-24 age group in 35:49. The bronze medallist at the New Zealand cross country championships last month covered the 2.5km run in 8:36, the 1km swim in 15:27 and the 2.5km run in 9:40. Mitchell was 20 seconds ahead of Mexican Sara Hortensia Roel with a further 45 seconds to Vanessa Angeles Garcia also of Mexico.


Collegiate Cross Country Season

Ken Garland Cross Country, Denton Texas, 17 September: 4 mile Craig Lautenslager 19:55 (1), Mike Lowe 20:38 (10).

Panorama Farm Invitational, Earlysville Virginia, 23 September: Womens 5km Hannah Miller had an outstanding run in only her second collegiate race finishing third in 17:11. Anneke Grogan was 37th in 18:14.

Roy Griak Invitational, Les Bolstad Golf Course University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, 24 September: 8km Harry Ewing 25:56 (45), Jeff Lautenslager 27:02 (148), Daniel Hintz 27:08 (156). 6km Kerry White 23:32 (113), Emily Roughan 23:57 (151).


Shaun Farrell has held the New Zealand 400m record of 46.09 since 1998 when he won the national title in Wanganui. The blade runner Liam Malone is now knocking on the door of running a sub-46 second time. In winning the Paralympics T44 400m gold medal in Rio Malone ran 46.20.

The question now being asked is, can he take the New Zealand record. While that debate continues Shaun Farrell is not fazed at the possibility of losing the record to Malone. A philosophical Farrell says that it doesnt bother him.

"Its good for the sport and great for athletics getting all this publicity.

"Compared to world times its a pretty soft record and someone has to get it soon," said Farrell.

"While it is cool to have the record Im prouder of my 800m time than the 400m.

"It will be great to see Malone run 45 seconds, he is capable of it and it will be great to see someone get the record legitimately," said Farrell who looks forward to meeting Malone at some stage.

The Shoe Clinic store manager at Riccarton Mall is ranked third all-time on the New Zealand 800m rankings behind Sir Peter Snell and Sir John Walker with his time of 1:45.45 in Sydney in February 1998. Just behind Farrell on the rankings is Nick Willis with his time of 1:45.54.



OHagans Viaduct Harbour 5km, 20 September: Steven Langdon 16:20, Mark Toplis 17:06, Adam Berry 17:11. Christine Adamson 20:41, Anna Boyd 21:18, Katherine Teys 21:19.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 21 September: Mark Boyce 15:58, Richard Dolman 19:20.

Cornwall Park, Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Liam Barry 17:46, Sam Thom 18:26, Colin Foley 18:32. Grace Wood 20:30.

Western Springs Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Leon Dickison 19:20, Fleur Walter 19:35.

Onehunga Half Marathon, 25 September: Greg Darbyshire 1:14:00, Jacob Hendrickx 1:14:25, Tim Hitchcock 1:19:06. Jo Gosse 1:27:22, Kerryn Van Ru 1:32:09, Pauline Thorp 1:33:31.


Lake Parkrun 5km, 24 September: John Crane 17:38, Andrew Wark 17:56, Sam Le Heron 18:17. Charli Miller 18:09, Veronika Lang 19:19.


Puarenga Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Michael Angrove 18:27.


Anderson Parkrun 5km, 24 September Jason Petuha 18:54, Karen Moore 20:29.


Hatuma Lime Half Marathon, 18 September: Vernon Preston 1:21:12, William Kelsey 1:22:58, Kevin Knowles 1:25:21. Karen Toulmin 1:25:45. Walk; Graeme Jones 1:55:01, Joff Hulbert 2:11:47.


Lower Hutt Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Geoff Ferry 16:38, Andrew Crosland 17:40, Finn Molloy 17:46.

Porirua Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Philip Opie 17:42.


Hagley Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Darren Hoolahan 17:18, Daniel Roswell 17:55, Neil Christian 17:59. Shannon-Leigh Walker 19:56.

Pegasus Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Hamish Hargest 18:53.


Botanic Garden Parkrun 5km, 24 September: Josh Hou 18:59, Jonah Smith 19:00.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand