Athletics New Zealand Half Marathon Championship - 5 June 2016

Oska Inkster-Baynes had to shrug off a determined Aaron Pulford before going on to claim his second national half marathon title in a personal best 1:06:34.

Inkster-Baynes the 2012 champion said it wasnt an easy win as Pulford was tenacious to the end.

"Aaron wouldnt give up. He kept dropping surges the whole time," said Inkster-Baynes.

Confusion at the end resulted in Inkster-Baynes running off the course in the final metres of the race, climbing under a barrier to get back on course to finish just in front of Pulford who recorded the same time as Inkster-Baynes for second.

Rotorua teenager Michael Voss, winner of the recent Rotorua Half Marathon finished third in 1:06:50, gaining his first senior national championship medal.

Olivia Burne won the womens title in a personal best 1:15:31. Rowan Torckler was second in 1:16:07 with defending champion Lydia ODonnell third in 1:17:01 and Alice Mason fourth in 1:17:27.

In the masters Mark Bailey won the 35-49 age group in 1:09:23 from Greg Darbyshire and Dave Parsons. The 50 plus group was won by Anthony Duncraft in 1:19:30, two seconds ahead of Richard Seigne with Alastair Prangnell third.

Sally Gibbs celebrated her 53rd birthday by winning the masters women in 1:20:13 from Paul Canning 1:24:08 and Lindsay Barwick 1:26:35.

Jonathon Lord won the half marathon race walk in 1:47:35.

Christchurch Airport Marathon - 5 June 2016

Dougal Thorburn won the marathon in a personal best 2:24:51 beating Ciaran Faherty also in a PB 2:26:38 and Jono Jackson (2:30:37). The womens marathon went to Liza Hunter-Galvan in 2:50:11 from Mel Aitken 2:54:01 and Candice Hammond PB 2:58:02.

Sean Eustace won the 10km in a PB 31:25 with Alice Wilson heading in the women in 38:22. The 10km race walk went to Rozie Robinson an outright winner in 52:18.


Winter Throwers Series, AUT Millennium Stadium - 4 June 2016

Connor Bell (14) 1.25kg DT 59.76m.


Hastings Harriers Steeplechase, Showgrounds - 28 May 2016

Kristian Day won the senior mens 6km in 20:54, from David Lovelock 21:01 and Lucas Duross 21:17. Ruby Muir ran in the mens race finishing ninth in 24:12. Philip McKay won the master men over the same distance in 24:37. Melisa Black won the senior womens 4.5km in 18:44 with Karen Moore heading the master women in 20:11. Laura Langley won the W19 3km in 12:30 while William Little won the M19 4.5km in 17:17.


IAAF Diamond League, Golden Gala, Rome, 2 June 2016: Valerie Adams won the shot put with a throw of 19.69m. Her series was 19.46, 18.95, 19.69, 19.63, 19.52, 19.56. 2016 world indoor championships silver medallist Anita Mrton of Hungary was second with 18.98m.


IAAF Diamond League, Birmingham, 5 June 2016: Valerie Adams was second in the shot put with 19.63m and Nick Willis was third in the 1500m in 3:34.29, his tenth fastest time and fastest since July last year. Tia Brooks of USA won the shot put with 19.73m and Asbel Kiprop of Kenya won the 1500m in a 2016 world leading time of 3:29.33. Adams series was 19.32, 19.31, 19.54, 19.44, 19.63, 19.44.

Camille Buscomb was 13th in the 5000m in 16:11.17, won in 15:12.79 by Vivian Jepkemoi Cheruiyot of Kenya.

Newham, 5 June: Joseph Millar 100m 10.61 (+4.1) (8h2), 200m 24.54 (+0.9) (7r1).


NCAA Div 1 West Prelim, West Lawrence KS, 28 May: Lilli Burdon 1500m 4:21.33 (2h4).

Adrian Martinez Meeting, Emerson Field, Concord MA, 2 June: Kimberley Smith after leading almost throughout finished fourth in the 5000m in 15:32.10. Won by Gabriele Grunewald in 15:25.40 from Sarah Pagano 15:26.79 and Rachel Cliff 15:29.23. Julian Oakley who broke four minute for the mile in this meeting two years ago went under the barrier again running 3:59.33 in fourth place.

Princeton Qualifier, Princeton NJ, 3 June: Eric Speakman 1500m 3:38.02 (2).

Furman Elite, Greenville SC, 4 June: Nikki Hamblin 1500m 4:07.18 (9).


Josef Odlozil Memorial, Prague, 6 June: Hamish Carson 1500m 3:37.03 (3). Won by Alsadik Mikhou of Bahrain in 3:32.85 from Czech runner Jakub Holua 3:35.15.


Cote d'Armor Departmental Meeting, Lamballe, 29 May: Alexander Parkinson DT 54.23m (1).

Meeting Elite de Forbach, 29 May: Matthew Bloxham HT 63.86m (5).

Departmental Championships, Vannes, 4 June: Alexander Parkinson DT 53.62m (1), Matthew Bloxham HT 64.06m (1).


Grfelfing Munich, 29 May: Nick Southgate PV 5.30m (4).

Sparkassen Gala, Regensburg, 5 June: Liz Lamb HJ 1.76m (6).


La Chaux-de-Fonds, 1 June: Joseph Millar 100m 10.56 (+2.1) (6).


Flanders Cup Putbos Memorial Leon Buyle, Putbosstadion Oordegem-Lede, 4 June: Rochelle Coster 100m H 13.54 (+0.5) (5r2). Michael Cochrane 400m H 50.30 (2r1). Katherine Marshall 800m 2:03.20 PB (4r2), shaved 0.70s off time set in Watford on 28 May 2016.


Victorian Walk Championships, Middle Park Melbourne, 28 May: Quentin Rew 10km race walk 40:55 (1), Alana Barber 10km race walk 47:01 (1).


The Chair of Athletics New Zealand Board Annette Purvis of Christchurch was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit ONZM for services to athletics.

Annette has served on the Board since 2004 and been Chair since 2007. Her involvement in athletics started in Canterbury and extends over 30 years as a competitor, coach and administrator. She was a founding member of the Valleys United Athletics Club in Lower Hutt, and helped organise the International Paralympic Committee World Athletics Championships staged in Christchurch in 2011. She is serving her second term as a member of the IAAF womens committee where she assisted Athletics New Zealand in becoming a signatory to the Brighton and Helsinki declaration on women in sport in 2014.

Annette said that she was honoured to receive the ONZM.

"I feel very privileged to contribute in a meaningful way to a sport that has been a major part of my life. I would like to acknowledge all our volunteers who like me give their time freely and for no real reward other than the love of it and to make a difference," she said.



Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Ken Walker 18:23, Allan Janes 18:56. Ruth Hutchinson 21:04.


OHagans Viaduct 5km, 31 May: Tommy Hayes 15:27, Stephen Langdon 16:09, Nick Pannett 16:48. Katherine Morgan 18:38, Nadine Fromont 19:41.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 1 June: Guillaume Fleury 18:59, Harry Lochhead 19:01.

Barry Curtis Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Grant Lincoln 18:57.

Cornwall Park Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Will Laery 17:59. Grace Wood 19:55.

Millwater Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Daniel Shaw 18:00.

Western Springs Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Peter Kenny 18:51, Doug Manning 18:59.


Lake Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Michael Robinson 17:49, Joe Morgan 18:14, Adam Eason 18:50. Paula Ward 21:10.

Mt Maunganui

30th Mount Joggers Half Marathon, 5 June: Craig Kirkwood 1:11:35, Ben Ruthe 1:11:52, Kyle Macdonald 1:12:47, Corey Hinde 1:17:48. Emma Dallison 1:30:09, Lucy Young 1:31:30, Emma Hyett 1:31:50. Walk: Penny Purcell 2:19:21. 10km; Samuel Tanner 36:01, Brad Dixon 36:28, Andrew Vane 38:16. Phoebe de Jong 43:42. Walk: Michael Young 1:09:34.


Lower Hutt Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Geoff Ferry 18:21, Braden Neal 18:26, Craig Baxter 18:52. Karen Nunns 20:04.

Kapiti Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Mark Bouwman 19:05.

Porirua Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Philip Opie 17:23, William Twiss 18:19, Gareth McCash 18:26.


Hagley Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Luke Carman 18:44. Thea Taylor 20:58.


Botanic Garden Parkrun 5km, 4 June: Ioan Fuller 18:33. Mary Gray 20:51.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand