Janna Vaughan is the new cap in the New Zealand Women's Sevens squad as they focus on this weekend's Canada Sevens in Langford.

The 27-year-old Manawatu has scored two tries in three tests for the Black Ferns last year in Canada and will bring some extra pace to the equation. In one other change, Tyla Nathan-Wong returns, replacing the injured Kelly Brazier.

New Zealand played well only in patches last weekend in Atlanta before bowing to Australia in the Cup final, which has allowed them to rise to outright second on the World Series standings, but still with more questions than answers around their execution and personnel, though Shiray Tane advanced her case with four tries.

Coach Sean Horan congratulated Vaughan on her selection: "Janna fully deserves her chance to show us what she can do under the pressure of a tournament. She's quick, she's tough, and has excelled in 15s, so we're really looking forward to seeing those skills in Langford.


"These two tournaments have all been about deepening the pool of talent we have available to help us select the best possible team for the Olympics."

The Atlanta win pushed Australia out to 60 points, 14 clear of New Zealand with just two rounds remaining. The team has been drawn in Pool B at Langford and will play USA, Fiji and Spain.

Debutants in Atlanta - Theresa Fitzpatrick, Terina Te Tamaki, and Stacey Waaka - have the chance to impress again with only one more tournament (France) left in the season before the New Zealand Olympic sevens team is selected in early July.

"We made some real progress in Atlanta with a very young side," said Horan. "Seven players had never tasted the pressure of finals sevens rugby before so that's great experience to bank. We'll certainly be looking to build on that in Langford where another tough pool awaits us."

Canada Sevens match schedule:
(Langford is 19 hours behind NZT)
Saturday April 16 (Sunday April 17, NZT)
12.28 (07.28) v Fiji
15.20 (10.20) v Spain
18.12 (13.12) v USA
Sunday April 17: Finals
TV coverage on SKY Sport 1: Monday April 18 from 9.40am

The team is: Michaela Blyde (Taranaki), Theresa Fitzpatrick (Auckland), Sarah Goss (c, Manawatu), Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland), Shiray Tane (Hawke's Bay), Terina Te Tamaki (Waikato), Ruby Tui (Canterbury), Janna Vaughan* (Manawatu), Stacey Waaka (Waikato),
Niall Williams (Auckland), Selica Winiata (Manawatu), Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau) *new cap