Rowing: Under-23 squad leave for world champs

They may not have reached elite level, but the heat is already on New Zealand's rising rowing talent.

The national under 23 squad leave for Euorpe today and the world championships, starting in Linz, Austria on July 28.

The squad of 29 is made up of three women's crews and four men.

Rowing New Zealand has spelt out to the crews that three medals is the ultimate goal.

"These athletes are picked to be the next crop of young talent to come through the high performance programme, with many of these young athletes hoping to break into the senior/elite ranks for the 2016 Olympic Games," RNZ high performance manager Alan Cotter said.

"Many of the current under 23 athletes will be the future stars in Rio and beyond to 2020."

Ten rowers are returning from last year's worlds. Six of the junior team of last year have progressed to the under 23 group.

New Zealand won five medals last year, including golds by the women's pair and men's double scullers. There were bronzes by the men's coxed four and the women's lightweight double scull and quad crews.

Under 23 squad to contest the world championships in Linz, Austria on July 27-28:
Lightweight double: Sophie Mackenzie (Wairau RC), Lisa Owen (Waihopai RC)
Quad: Hannah Osborne (Te Awamutu RC), Allie Smith (Waikato RC), Olivia Loe (Avon RC), Claudia Hyde (Rotorua RC)
Coxless four: Kristen Froude (Waihopai RC), Johannah Kearney (Omaru RC), Abbey Green (Hawkes Bay RC), Kelsi Walters (Auckland Grammar RC)

Lightweight single scull: Adam Ling (Tauranga RC)
Quad: Karl Manson (Blenheim RC), Jeff Francis (Rotorua RC), Giacomo Thomas (Hawkes Bay RD), Chris Morrison (Cambridge RC).
Coxed four: Evan Kennedy (Waikato RC), Logan Keys (Canterbury RC), Cameron Crampton (Timaru RC), Jared Glue (Avon RC), Cox: Sam Bosworth (Avon RC)
Eight: Stephen Jones (West End RC), Brook Robertson (Nelson RC), Alex Kennedy (Te Awamutu RC), Joe Wright (Wellington RC), Finn Howard (North Shore RC), Shaun Kirkham (Waikato RC), Isaac Grainger (Auckland RC), Tom Murray (Blenheim RC). Cox: Caleb Shepherd (Waikato RC).

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 29 Apr 2017 23:40:28 Processing Time: 827ms