Cricket: Dodd called up to White Ferns for World Cup

By Michael Brown

Natalie Dodd wicketkeeping. Photo / File / John Stone
Natalie Dodd wicketkeeping. Photo / File / John Stone

Natalie Dodd is the only new cap in an otherwise experienced 15-strong New Zealand women's cricket squad for the upcoming women's World Cup in India.

Dodd has been in good form on the domestic scene so far this season, on the back of some impressive performances for the emerging players squad in recent years.

Experienced allrounder Sophie Devine returns to the squad after missing last month's Rose Bowl series against Australia with injury, and Kate Broadmore also returns to the side.

The White Ferns have been drawn in Group B alongside Australia, Pakistan and South Africa for the tournament that starts on January 31.

They will play warm-ups against Sri Lanka and England on the eve of their first game against South Africa on February 1.

"We have selected a strong all-round squad for the ICC Women's World Cup," national selection manager Kim Littlejohn said.

"There is depth in our batting, a bowling attack with a variety of pace and spin, excellent fielders with plenty of energy and excellent leadership.

"There's a lot of experience in the team including a large number of World Cup veterans and we think that familiarity will be useful when it comes to pressure situations that the team will face during the marquee tournament.

"There were some difficult decisions to make, but we are very excited by the list chosen and are confident this squad has the right balance to do exceptionally well."

New Zealand women's cricket squad for the ICC women's World Cup in India from January 31-February 17: Suzie Bates (c, Otago), Kate Broadmore (Central Districts), Nicola Browne (Northern Districts), Rachel Candy (Canterbury), Natalie Dodd (Northern Districts)), Lucy Doolan (Wellington), Sophie Devine (Wellington), Sara McGlashan (Central Districts), Frances Mackay (Canterbury), Morna Nielsen (Northern Districts), Katie Perkins (Auckland), Rachel Priest (Central Districts), Sian Ruck (Wellington), Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury), Lea Tahuhu (Canterbury).


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 23 May 2017 20:35:44 Processing Time: 247ms