Cycling: McCormick wins despite crash

Hayden McCormick. Photo / Supplied
Hayden McCormick. Photo / Supplied

Te Awamutu's Hayden McCormick recovered from a final-lap crash to take out the gold medal in the points race on the third night of the Oceania track cycling championships in Adelaide last night.

McCormick produced a stunning display to lap the field and dominate the key sprints for points in the 30km race.

Despite his wheel was clipped on the final lap, McCormick managed to get up and drag his bike over the finish line to win on 53 points, 20 clear of Australians Jack Cummings and Mitchell Mulhurn.

"I'm hurting at the moment and can't stand, but I'll be back tomorrow for the presentation and to race," McCormick said.

New Zealand's other victory went to Hawkes Bay junior Regan Gough, who took out the under-19 10km scratch race over Australians Nathan Bradshaw and Alex Porter.

Former world junior champion Sam Webster was the best of the Kiwi contingent in the men's sprint, securing the bronze medal with two straight wins over Australian Andrew Taylor.

In the battle for the minors, Matt Archibald took out fifth from fellow Southlander Eddie Dawkins.

Earlier a powerful Australian combination was too strong for New Zealand in the under-19 4000m team pursuit, catching the Kiwis who had to settle for the silver medal.

After the first day in the men's omnium, Southlanders Pieter Bulling and Cameron Karwowski lie second and third respectively behind Australian Luke Davison.

Levin's Gemma Dudley sit in third place in the women's omnium, behind Australians Annette Edmondson and Bella King with three final disciplines today.

The final day of competition features the omnium, men's keirin, women's sprint, women's points race and men's madison

Results from day three of the Oceania track cycling championships in Adelaide last night:

Elite men:

Points race: Hayden McCormick (NZL) 53, 1; Jack Cummings (AUS) 33, 2; Mitchell Mulhurn (AUS) 32, 3.

Sprint, bronze ride: Sam Webster (NZL) bt Andrew Taylor (AUS) 2-0.

Under 19 men:

Scratch race, 10km: Regan Gough (NZL) 1, Nathan Bradshaw (AUS) 2, Alex Porter (AUS) 3.

4000m team pursuit: Australia 4:09.986, 1; New Zealand, 2 (caught).


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 30 Mar 2017 11:34:27 Processing Time: 305ms