Bowls: NZ Open set to roll

Qualifying matches in the men's and women's triples have brought to a close preparations for the New Zealand Open, with the competition starting tomorrow in Auckland.

Beginning early tomorrow morning on the Henderson bowls greens with the men's singles, the tournament will feature sudden-death races for the finals in singles, pairs and triples.

The start of post-section play tomorrow will welcome to the competition the first of the New Zealand selection players, chosen by Bowls NZ head coach Dave Edwards.

Among these rising and established bowlers are former Black Jack Dan Delany, looking to prove his worth to rejoin the national side next year, New Zealand under-25 players Chris Le Lievre and Scott Cottrell, and last year's women's singles runner-up Karen Guilford.

A relatively young crowd of star bowlers, the selection players are facing a field teeming with experienced stalwarts and national champions, ensuring tensely-fought battles throughout the day.

In today's triples qualifiers, teams of note that pushed their way through to post-section included Gregory Ruaporo's band of young men, two-time triples champion Doreen Schumacher triplet and former New Zealand representative Reen Stratford's trio.

Qualifying results from the New Zealand Open bowls tournament held at Henderson bowls greens in Auckland today:

Qualifiers for women's triples: D Jensen (Onehunga & Districts), M McLeod (Composite), H Tuhoro (Composite), M Broadbent (Composite), K Hema (Composite), K de Jongh (Carlton Cornwall), R Willis (Composite), A Rennie (Pakuranga), C Fredrick (Birkenhead), J Bird (Waitoa), J Ikiua Willis (Composite), A Mahon (Henderson), N Culpan Willis (Composite), E Watson (Henderson), P Mytton (Browns Bay), P Roberts (Papakura), R Stratford Willis (Composite), M Tipene (Mangere), D Schumacher (Composite), T Tuaiti (Composite), C Griffith (Composite),

D Harris (Howick), J O'Connor (St Heliers), F Yates (Pt Chevalier), W Collins (Mangere), M Evans (Warkworth), E Hickey (Composite), E Waerehu (Mangere), H Ross (Mairangi Bay), R Strickland (Pt Chevalier ) J Scarrott (Mt Wellington).

Qualifiers for men's triples: L Newman (Victoria), J McConnell (Pauanui), P Houlihan (Composite), T Tumua (Otahuhu Railway), P Bennett (Composite), J Hill (Composite), P Anning (Composite), G Ruaporo (Composite), P Harris (Composite), R Ashton (Composite), S Beel (Composite), D Matthews (Birkenhead), M Hadrup (Pakuranga), S McGonagle (Composite), M Matieson (Takapuna), R Parker (Birkenhead), C O'Brien (Composite), I Little (Beach Haven), G Wintle (Mangawhai), N Krajancic (Composite), B Dix (Composite), F Anerich (Orewa), H Keane

(Northcote), T Makira (Mangere), J Whitelaw (Onehunga), M Tolj (Carton Cornwall), T Marinkovich (Browns Bay), S Bayne (Northcote), B Fulton (Composite), I Pyke (Browns Bay), A Johnston (Composite).


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 30 Apr 2017 21:56:26 Processing Time: 256ms