Rugby: Faumuina named in All Blacks

Blues prop Charlie Faumuina is the only new addition to the 28-strong All Blacks squad to contest the Rugby Championship that was named today.

Faumuina was part of the All Blacks' wider training group for the three-test series against Ireland in June, but missed selection due to injury.

A cornerstone of the Blues forward pack, 25-year-old Faumuina came through the Auckland scrum academy and made his provincial debut for Auckland in 2007, the same year he played for the New Zealand under-21 team, and made his Super Rugby debut in 2009.

Primarily a tighthead prop, he can also cover loosehead.

"We would like to congratulate Charlie on his selection. He had to wait a while to get over his calf injury before he could be selected officially in the All Blacks, so it will be exciting for him and his family. He's an outstanding front rower and we look forward to seeing him play at the next level," All Black coach Steve Hansen said.

The squad also sees the return of Hurricanes and Wellington outside back Cory Jane who missed the Irish series with an ankle injury, while Waikato and Chiefs loose forward Liam Messam, who was called into the squad that played Ireland as an injury replacement, has also been selected.

Meanwhile, an injury replacement for the injured Conrad Smith will be confirmed next week, with 17-test All Black Sonny Bill Williams the likely player, once arrangements have been finalised.

Players from the squad who played against Ireland who have missed out on selection are wing Zac Guildford and prop Ben Tameifuna.

Players not considered for selection due to injury include Anthony Boric (neck), Colin Slade (leg), Richard Kahui (shoulder) and Ali Williams (knee).

The squad is made up of 16 forwards and 12 backs with a combined total of 879 test caps and will again be led by 106-test All Black Richie McCaw, with Daniel Carter his vice-captain.

Squad (caps in brackets): Andrew Hore, Taranaki (65), Aaron Smith, Manawatu (3), Keven Mealamu, Auckland (93), Piri Weepu, Auckland (59), Wyatt Crockett, Canterbury, (6), Daniel Carter, Canterbury (87), Charlie Faumuina, Auckland, Aaron Cruden, Manawatu (11), Ben Franks, Canterbury (18), Owen Franks, Canterbury (34), Tony Woodcock, North Harbour (86), Tamati Ellison, Otago (2), Ma'a Nonu, Wellington (66), Conrad Smith, Wellington (58), Brodie Retallick, Bay of Plenty (3), Luke Romano, Canterbury (1), Samuel Whitelock, Canterbury (28), Israel Dagg, Hawke's Bay (15), Hosea Gear, Wellington (9), Cory Jane, Wellington (31), Sam Cane, Bay of Plenty (2), Ben Smith, Otago (5), Richie McCaw (captain), Canterbury (106), Julian Savea, Wellington (2), Liam Messam, Waikato (10), Kieran Read, Canterbury (38), Adam Thomson, Otago (27), Victor Vito, Wellington (14)


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 28 May 2017 09:28:17 Processing Time: 553ms