Ask Matt: How long has each district councillor served?

Q: Could Matt please tell us the length of time each of our present district councillors has served?

A: This is a good question, considering it is local body election year with elections being held by postal ballot finishing on Saturday, October 12.

According to Rotorua District Council records, Rotorua's councillors have served the following number of years, including this year.

? Mayor Kevin Winters: Councillor for three years, mayor for nine years. 12 years in total. Elected to council in 2001.

? Deputy Mayor Trevor Maxwell: 33 years. Elected in 1979.

? Glenys Searancke: 27 years. Elected in 1986.

? Charles Sturt: 23 years. Elected in 1989, resigned in 1996. Reelected in 1998.

? Maureen Waaka: 18 years. Elected in 1989. Re-elected in 1998.

? Janet Wepa: 11 years. Elected in 2002.

? Mike McVicker: Nine years. Elected in 2004.

? Maggie Bentley: Six years. Elected in 2007.

? Julie Calnan: Six years. Elected in 2007.

? Dave Donaldson: Six years. Elected in 2007.

? Mark Gould: Six years. Elected in 2004 and again in 2010.

? Karen Hunt: Six years. Elected in 2007.

? Merepeka Raukawa-Tait: Two years. Elected in a by-election in 2011.

- Rotorua Daily Post

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 25 May 2017 11:44:42 Processing Time: 279ms