Rebecca Quilliam is senior reporter at the NZME. News Service office in Wellington.

Wellington College students scoop Top Scholar Awards

Thomas Leggat, left, and Nicholas On were presented with the Prime Minister's Award for Academic Excellence at a ceremony at Government House this afternoon. Photo / supplied
Thomas Leggat, left, and Nicholas On were presented with the Prime Minister's Award for Academic Excellence at a ceremony at Government House this afternoon. Photo / supplied

Two students from Wellington College have been awarded the top academic prize at the Top Scholar Awards today.

John Key presented Thomas Leggat and Nicholas On with the Prime Minister's Award for Academic Excellence at a ceremony at Government House this afternoon.

They were also recipients of a Premier Award, along with eight secondary school students.

The awards recognise the top students from last year's New Zealand Scholarship exams.

The students achieved such outstanding results, "choosing between the two was impossible," said Education Minister Hekia Parata.

"Both students not only reached the pinnacle of academic success in their school careers, but also displayed strong leadership qualities and all-round achievement in areas such as sport and debating," she said.

"Thomas and Nicholas' achievements across the board show a work ethic and desire to succeed that will hold them both in good stead for future success."

Prizes were also presented today by Ms Parata and Governor-General Lieutenant General Sir Jerry Mateparae to the highest-achieving student in each of the 35 scholarship topics.

Mr Leggat achieved Outstanding Scholarships in classical studies, history and media studies - and was the top scholar in media studies and classical studies.

He also gained scholarships in economics, english, geography and statistics and modelling.

The scholar was the recipient of a University of Auckland Faculty of Law scholarship and is now studying law and the arts at the university.

Mr On gained Outstanding Scholarships in chemistry, mathematics with calculus, physical education and statistics and modelling.

He also achieved scholarships in biology and physics.

He was also awarded an Otago University Academic Excellence Scholarship and a University of Auckland scholarship. Mr On chose to take up the Otago opportunity and is now studying health sciences there.


Premier Awards: Harry James Scott Berger, Wellington College; Thomas John Brennan Leggat, Wellington College; George Nelson, Lindisfarne College; Brian Gibson Ng, Hutt Valley High School; Nicholas On, Wellington College; Bowen Shi, Dilworth School; Thomas Simpson, Hamilton Boys High School; Philippa Alice Trevella, Rangi Ruru Girls' School; Pak Hang Henry Yuen, Auckland Grammar School; and Feng Zhou, Macleans College.

New Zealand Scholarship Awards: Accounting - Alexander James Gibbs, Bayfield High School; Agricultural and horticultural science - George Nelson, Lindisfarne College; Art History - Rosza Maria Majsa, Auckland Girls' Grammar School; Biology - Max Alexander Ashmore, Mount Albert Grammar School; Chemistry - Tao Tom Yang, Mount Roskill Grammar School; Chinese - Yi Lin Huang, Macleans College; Classical Studies - Thomas John Brennan Leggat, Wellington College; Dance - Kendall Victoria Jones, St Dominic's College; Design - visual arts - Tarn Sinead McConville, St Cuthbert's College; Drama - Kalyani Nagarajan, Epsom Girls' Grammar School; Economics - Durandon Jae Govender, Rosehill College; English - Alexander Ducat, ACG Senior College; French - Ruitao Hu, Rosmini College; Geography - Abigail Parry North, St Cuthbert's College; German - Colin Kuehne, Wellington College; Graphics - Nicole Jayne Austin, Timaru Girls' High School; History - Benjamin James Hamer Guerin, Scots College; Japanese - Riki Fujii, Macleans College; Latin - Alan Ansell, New Plymouth Boys' High School; Mathematics with calculus - Hao Jeng, Hillcrest High School; Media studies - Thomas John Brennan Leggat, Wellington College; Music - Callum John Blackmore, Selwyn College; Painting - visual arts - Rebecca Mary Mclennan Hawkes, Rangi Ruru Girls' School; Photography - visual arts - Oluwatomi Esther Ige, Northcote College; Physical education - Emma Mary Dwight, Otumoetai College; Physics - Byung Cheol Cho, Auckland Grammar School; Printmaking - visual arts - Sophia Smolenski, Spotswood College; Samoan - Mose Tanielu, Mangere College; Science - Katherine Jane Hope Murray, Solway College; Sculpture - visual arts - Felixe Jeffs Laing, Epsom Girls' Grammar School; Spanish - Jaume Benson Guiu, John McGlashan College; Statistics and modelling - Alan Ansell, New Plymouth Boys' High School; Te Reo Maori - Tamati Nicholas, Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Ruamata; Te Reo Rangatira - Te Korou Whangataua Roberts, Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Hoani Waititi; and Technology - Adam Patrick Bodene Gorrie, Kavanagh College.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 30 May 2017 13:39:47 Processing Time: 316ms