Graphic: Fire bans across NZ

Photo / File
Photo / File

Fire ban by region (info courtesy of National Rural Fire Authority):

Total fire bans are in place across the country today as dry conditions and temperatures continue unabated.

Fire authorities stretching from the Far North to Central Otago have declared a prohibited fire season in a number of districts throughout the country.

In the North Island, the Far North, Hauraki, Napier, Rotorua, Taupo, Opotiki, Thames, Waipa and the Auckland district all have bans in place.

And further South, fires are prohibited in the Malborough, Selwyn, Waimakiriri, Central Otago and Canterbury districts.

Total fire bans in these areas prohibit the lighting of any outdoor fires, including incinerators and fixed or portable solid fuel barbecues. The ban does not apply to gas barbecues.

The councils for these areas warn that the bans will be in place until further notice.


© Copyright 2015, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf01 at 05 Sep 2015 21:17:53 Processing Time: 665ms