New Year Honours: Top honours for Holmes, Glenn, Pye, Olympians

Sir Paul Holmes and Sir Mark Todd. Photos / Glenn Taylor/Christine Cornege
Sir Paul Holmes and Sir Mark Todd. Photos / Glenn Taylor/Christine Cornege

Sir Paul Holmes, Sir Owen Glenn and gold medal-winning Olympians are among the 191 people recognised in the New Zealand New Year Honours.

New Year Honours: Read the full list here.

Sir Paul receives a knighthood for services to broadcasting and the community. His honour brings the number of new Knights Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit to seven.

The others are billionaire businessman Sir Glenn, former Waitakere Mayor Sir Bob Harvey, Court of Appeal president Justice Sir Mark O'Regan, newspaper publisher Sir Julian Smith, Maori businessman Sir Mark Solomon and equestrian Sir Mark Todd.

There are two new Dames Companion, the equivalent honour for women, former High Court judge Justice Dame Judith Potter and Dame Wendy Pye, who founded and runs one of the world's most successful educational export companies.

The honours list describes Sir Paul, who was previously made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, as one of New Zealand's pre-eminent broadcasters with one of the most recognisable faces and voices in television and radio.

Sir Owen, who was already an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit, is recognised again for his philanthropy, including budgeting $88 million for a project to address domestic violence and child abuse, starting with a trial in South Auckland.

Several athletes were recognised.

Sir Mark Todd, already named a Companion of the British Empire, was knighted for services to equestrian. He won Olympic golds at Los Angeles in 1984 and Seoul in 1988 and bronze in Sydney in 2000. He came out of retirement to win another bronze in London, equalling the record of Hungarian fencer Aladar Gerevich in having the longest gap between first and last Olympic medals, 28 years.

Other London Olympians to be honoured were Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie, who won gold in the women's 470 sailing event, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray, who won gold in the men's coxless pair, Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan, who won gold in the men's double sculls and Lisa Carrington, who won gold in the women's K1 200 metres kayaking.

All were named Members of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

Paralympians Mary Fisher and Phillipa Gray and her pilot Laura Fairweather received the same accolade.

Elsewhere there were rewards for former Reserve Bank governor Dr Alan Bollard and ex MPs George Hawkins, Rodney Hide and Wayne Mapp.

Cooks Tony Astle and Fleur Sullivan were honoured, league legend Graham Lowe was rewarded for his community work and Auckland septuagenarian Lyn Thornton proved it's never too late for recognition.

She received the Queen's Service Medal for 57 years of unbroken service to the North Shore YMCA, where she still teaches aerobics five times a week.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 27 May 2017 14:57:55 Processing Time: 354ms