Fat Freddy's Drop star at music awards

Wellington's seven-piece dub/reggae band Fat Freddy's Drop was the star of tonight's New Zealand Music Awards after winning best group, album of the year and best Aotearoa roots album for Based on a True Story.

Hip Hop artist P-Money won best male solo artist and best hip-hop album for Magic City.

Russian-born 18-year-old songstress Yulia won best female solo artist and highest selling New Zealand album for Into the West.

Dave Dobbyn returned to the stage to receive the award for songwriter of the year for his single Welcome Home. Dobbyn first appeared at the New Zealand Music Awards 23 years ago for Top Male Vocalist 1982.

Other winners included:
Breaks Co-op for single of the year
The Checks for breakthrough artist of the year
Shihad for best rock album
Dei Hamo for highest selling New Zealand album
Del Rey System for best electronica album
Dan Poynton and Jonathan Lemalu, joint winners for best classical album
Chris Graham and Dei Hamo for best music video
Scribe, Evermore and Finn Brothers all sharing the international achievement award.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 28 May 2017 19:28:41 Processing Time: 694ms