Karl Puschmann is an entertainment writer for the New Zealand Herald.

Metallica self-destruct on new album

Metallica have announced their new album Hardwired... To Self-Destruct will be released in November
Metallica have announced their new album Hardwired... To Self-Destruct will be released in November

Metal fans prepare thy selves... Metallica are unleashing a new record in November. And it's a monster.

Titled Hardwired... To Self-Destruct the double album contains 12 new songs and runs almost 80 minutes - which must come pretty close to exceeding all daily recommended Metallica intakes - and will be available on CD, digital download and vinyl formats.

But for the hardwired hardcore hanging out for more Metallica there's also a 'deluxe edition', which adds a third disc of bonus songs and 'riff origins' tracks.

The album was produced by Greg Fidelman (Slayer, Black Sabbath, Slipknot) along with Metallica's James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.

"Hardwired... represents the next phase of our journey as Metallica and we are so excited to share it with you," the band said in a statement.

It's the first album from the heavy metal legends since 2008's well received Death Magnetic, an album that saw the group returning to top metal form after years spent in the MTV wilderness.

The band also released this back-to-basics video for the old school, thrash metal title track.

But the metal icing on this metal cake has to be the news that Metallica will be touring the album. Let's hope they make it here.

"We cannot wait to hit the road to play these songs live and get in your faces once again," the band's statement read, "so strap yourselves in."

Hardwired... To Self-Destruct is out November 18.

The full double album track listing is below.

Disc One
01 "Hardwired"
02 "Atlas, Rise!"
03 "Now That We're Dead"
04 "Moth Into Flame"
05 "Am I Savage?"
06 "Halo On Fire"

Disc Two
01 "Confusion"
02 "Dream No More"
03 "ManUNkind"
04 "Here Comes Revenge"
05 "Murder One"
06 "Spit Out The Bone"

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 19 Jan 2017 15:14:47 Processing Time: 734ms