Paula Rebstock will add to her workload as a busy fix-it person for the government after being named as the chair of a revamped Accident Compensation Corp board.

Rebstock, an existing member, will welcome new board members Trevor Janes, who will be deputy chair, the Auckland School of Medicine's Des Gorman and Kristy McDonald QC. The appointments are for three years. A fourth new appointment is yet to be made, bringing the board to its full complement of eight.

ACC Minister Judith Collins said the appointments were aimed at "rebuilding the public's trust and confidence in the corporation."

The ranks of ACC's board and executives have been purged in the fallout of privacy breaches that came to light because of the case of ACC claimant and National Party stalwart Bronwyn Pullar, whose supporters included former National president Michelle Boag and former ACC Minister Nick Smith.


"My appointments today underline the Government's commitment to genuine culture change, and will lead to a more balanced and comprehensive approach to the governance and operation of ACC," Collins said.

Rebstock's current roles include being chair of the Work and Income Board, deputy chair of the New Zealand Railways and chair of the Insurance and Savings Ombudsman Commission. She is a previous chair of the Commerce Commission.