Barrett's try against France earns top award

Beauden Barrett crosses the tryline during the second test against France. Photo / Getty Images
Beauden Barrett crosses the tryline during the second test against France. Photo / Getty Images

Beauden Barrett's spectacular try against France in Christchurch in June 15 last year has been named as the International Rugby Players' Association's Try of the Year.

The talented back, who came on as a replacement in that match, becomes the first New Zealander to win the award after two South Africans, an Australian and a player each from England and Ireland have previously been named as winners. The announcement was made on this week's IRB Total Rugby TV show.

New Zealander Andrew Mehrtens, England's Tony Diprose, Paul Wallace of Ireland and Springbok Thinus Delport formed the panel of judges who opted for Barrett's effort ahead of the four others on the shortlist, which included Barrett's own teammate Ben Smith, Scotland's Stuart Hogg and two South Africans, Jean de Villiers and Zane Kirchner.

Barrett's sensational try resulted from a turnover deep in New Zealand's own 22 as France attacked. The move, which included slick passing from several members of the All Blacks' backline and a clever chip ahead, was eventually finished off by Barrett under the French posts.

Upon receiving the award, Barrett said: "It was a great feeling to deliver this try for the team. Like all tries, the ground work is done on the training field and by your team mates, and the buzz when any of the guys manages to dot down is why we play for each other. I am glad that others enjoyed watching it all unfold.''

Mehrtens added: "With so many great international tries during 2013, involving both individual brilliance and collective effort, it is never an easy process to settle on one try. However, when it came down to it, Barrett's try stood out for the judges due to the high level of skills involved by different players, and, most importantly, the teamwork required to make it happen.''

Previous winners:
2012 - Bryan Habana (South Africa) -South Africa v New Zealand
2011 - Radike Samo (Australia) - Australia v New Zealand
2010 - Chris Ashton (England) - England v Australia
2009 - Jaque Fourie (South Africa) - South Africa v British and Irish Lions
2008 - Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland) - Australia v Ireland


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 30 May 2017 21:57:48 Processing Time: 678ms