Auckland reclaim SBS title

By Staff Reporter

A tough second round left the Manawatu Wanganui team ruing what might have been after Auckland reclaimed the SBS Invitational from them at the weekend.

Beaten by Manawatu Wanganui in a thrilling playoff last year, Auckland won their 11th invitational title, and third in the past four years, when they finished on an eight under par team total of 1144, at the Invercargill Golf Club at Otatara on Sunday.

Like the victors, a valiant Manawatu Wanganui also carded a three under par team total 285 in the fourth and final round, but their eight over par 296 in round two on Saturday was ultimately the difference.

Otago claimed a share of third with the home team Southland.

In the individual trophy stakes, Manawatu Wanganui's Lachie McDonald finished fourth overall.

The Marton golfer finished personally with a 283 score, from rounds of 65, 73, 72 and 73.

Otago's Brent McEwan was the winner with a 275 score.

- Wanganui Chronicle

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 07 Dec 2016 00:33:35 Processing Time: 314ms