A number of local people have been honoured as Kiwibank Local Hero medallists from Whanganui, Rangitikei, Manawatu and Horowhenua.

Pictured at the ceremony are back row (from left) Mark Jackson, Ken Smith, Kelly Scarrow, Charles Quirk, John Palliser; middle row (from left) Brian Green, councillor Rachel Bowen, Norma McCarthy, Clare Barrett (receiving on behalf of Isabelle Maloret), Carla Donson, Merenia Donne, Robert Martin, Cheryl Palliser, Tracey Berry (Kiwibank); front centre Taumaihiroa Tawhai-Porter (receiving on behalf of Tina Ngata).

Among them were Whanganui's Charles Quirk.

With close to 50 years' service to the Cadet Forces, the squadron leader "has made a positive contribution to the lives on many young New Zealanders", his bio for the award reads.


"His services to youth via the Air Training Corps in Whanganui has seen him involved in all areas of the local community, from planning clean ups at local war graves to volunteering at events across the region."

Mr Quirk is also "a senior adviser with the Ministry of Education working with students, families and schools in the Manawatu, Whanganui and South Taranaki".

Mr Quirk said the award was a "pleasant surprise" and that it was good to see others from Whanganui well represented in the awards. "It was really nice to see those people being recognised."

Hunterville's Brian Green, or Porky, as he is known to the community, always has something on the go in the region, his citations reads.

"Porky is a life member of the Hunterville Rugby Club. His involvement began as a young boy when he helped his father to prepare the grounds and build the grand stand.

"Since then, Porky has played, refereed, coached and even been president of the club. At almost 70 years old, he still takes his ride on a lawn mower to the grounds, from his house, to mow the field and mark out the lines."

It said: "Porky pitches in as Santa Claus for the local school, fire brigade and Bulls group.

He is actively involved in the Hunterville Shepherd's Shemozzle as a marshal, he MCs the local Christmas Parade and marches every year in the town's dawn parade."

Other local winners were Kelly Scarrow, Norma McCarthy, Carla Donson, Merenia Donne, and Robert Martin.

Previous medal recipient Angie Rogerson was ineligible for a second medal but will be considered for the National Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year Award, which will be announced at a gala on February 22.