Bay side seek title three peat

By Sports Reporter,

All eyes will be on Western Bay's Rangataua who are looking to create history at the Mount Maunganui Sports Club Rugby Sevens tomorrow.

The side will attempt to become the first club to win three successive titles at this year's competition.

Simply known as the Mount 7s, the annual sevens festival attracts teams from throughout the North Island.

After wining the title at Blake Park in 2011, Rangataua became the first club in the long history of the event, to win back-to-back Mount 7s crowns, when they defeated Auckland's Massey 17-12 in a thriller last year.

Included in the 23 teams chasing the championship trophy, are Grammar Carlton, Hautapu, Mount Maunganui, Arataki, Taradale, and Havelock North who are all former winners of the tournament.

Another Western Bay team with solid sevens credentials is Te Puna who won the Bay of Plenty Rugby Union's Club 7s in November 2012. The team from the extremities of the Western Bay defeated Mount Maunganui in a prelude to the Blake Park tournament.

Competition kicks off tomorrow at 10am with the finals starting at 4pm. The championship final will be played at 5pm on the newly-named Gordon Tietjens (main) Field at Blake Park. Entry fee is $5 for adults with kids under 14 free.

Mount Sevens 2013 entries:

Auckland University, College Rifles, Eden, Grammar Carlton (Auckland); Glenfield, Silverdale (North Harbour); Hamilton Old Boys, Hautapu, Leamington, Matamata Corinthians, Te Kauwhata, Southern United-Tokoroa (Waikato); Judea, Mount Sports1, Mount Sports2, Rangataua, Arataki, Tauranga Sports, Te Puna (Bay of Plenty); Havelock North, Taradale (Hawkes Bay); Hutt Old Boys (Wellington) and Southern (Hawera).

- Rotorua Daily Post

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 25 May 2017 19:58:58 Processing Time: 291ms