It'll be business as usual for mayors around the region on Monday - with Taupo, Whakatane, Opotiki and Kawerau all voting to retain their sitting leaders.

In Taupo, mayor David Trewavas was returned to the job with a voting margin of more than 5500 votes at the progress stage.

Mr Trewavas received 7616 votes with 98 per cent of the votes counted, with closest rival Christine Rankin sitting on 2016 votes.

In a statement, an elated Mr Trewavas said he felt both honoured and privileged to receive such a strong mandate from his community.


"We have achieved some great things in our district in the three years that I have been mayor but there is still more to do and I am really looking forward to building on our successes."

Mr Trewavas is now overseas and could not be reached for further comment.

Ms Rankin, who came second in the mayoralty race but secured a spot around the council table, said she knew she had her work cut out for her.

"I've ran so many campaigns in my life but the Taupo one was huge."

Ms Rankin said she knew coming in as an outsider it was a difficult task, especially in a town like Taupo.

"They sent me a very strong message - I wasn't shocked really but I'm pleased to be on the council."

Incumbent Whakatane mayor Tony Bonne looks to have regained his position, with 3011 votes with his closest rival Doug McLean with 2725.

It will be Mr Bonne's fourth term as mayor, although third in a row.

Mr Bonne said he was pleased with the result which saw the majority of councillors retain their seats.

"It was a vote of confidence in the existing council. Together we will be able to make even a better district than what we have got."

He said the two new councillors - Nandor Tanczos and Mike van der Boom - would be great, but he was disappointed to lose two hard working members in David Sheaff and
John Pullar.

It is the first time Whakatane has elected a mayor for a third consecutive term in Mr Bonne.

"I am the first mayor that has done three terms in a row. It's the first time in history."

Mr Bonne said that weighed on his mind going into the election as Whakatane had always been a district that liked change.

"I believed I had done a great job and had a great team of councillors. If that can't bring me through then something is wrong."

John Forbes looks to have secured the Opotiki mayoralty again with 1165 votes with the next closest Les Keane with 445.

In Kawerau, mayor Malcolm Campbell has been re-elected, winning by a large margin.

Progress results released this afternoon show Mr Campbell had 1422 votes, with Robert Hay in second with 131 and Sarah Penlington third with 122.