Triathlon: Kai Iwi Lakes winner as events host

By Cameron Leslie

Kai Iwi Lakes isn't known as a venue for multi-discipline events - but maybe it should be.

After Kai Iwi's recent success as a host for two Sport Northland organised triathlon events it is looking like it could be a regular venue.

This month the ASB Northland Secondary Schools Triathlon was held at the lakes for the first time where 75 students from 13 Northland schools competed. The following day, Kai Iwi Lakes played host for the Kumara Triathlon.

The Kumara Triathlon is a long-standing event which had over 320 participants take part in triathlon options including age groups, individuals and teams.

The men's open swim in the Kumara Triathlon was won by Paul Sumich of Whangarei with Graeme Ewenson second and Brett Halvorson third.

Linda King, also of Whangarei, won the women's open swim with Katheryn Semenoff-Murray coming in second and Donelle Masson third.

Richie Crawshaw and Lynda Crawshaw took out the men's and women's open kayak event with Kevin O'Brien and Anita Semenoff finishing second, followed by Greg Hoist in third. The male under-20 swim was won by Toby Robinson from Auckland. Josh Kirby was second.

Mick Killeen of Tutukaka and Marion Maxwell of Kerikeri, won the veteran men's and women's swim. Brett Stewart and Debbie Small placed second, followed by Andrew Coop and Christine Frazer-Kitchen in third. Long Shots won the teams' section while the team kayak was taken out by The Thin Blue Line.

Sport Northland's events team leader Hayley Overton said the long course event is not an easy event to complete.

"The cycle course includes some significant hills as well as the run course, which is largely off road and adds further mental and physical demands on athletes," she said. "Bearing this in mind, it was great to see so many taking up the challenge and entering this event."

The short course event - a 350m swim, 10km cycle and 3.8km run was won by Shaun Vickers and Portia Onley-Kemp, both of Whangarei. Jayden Maugham and Corinne Austin were second and Mark Robison and Lesley Parkin in third place. The Short Course team event was won by Team Tripple Ms with Team Rage and Tram Results Rule in second and third place.

- Northern Advocate

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 23 May 2017 04:03:15 Processing Time: 536ms