10 Minute Sport: Bowls; Mini world cup

Bowls: Men's pairs

The 2012 Bowls BOP Men's Centre Pairs tournament was held in Tauranga from November 24th-26th. From 62 teams, the finalists were the Tauranga South team of John Bush (Skip) with Kevin Maxfield, and a Composite team of Nigel Grondin (Skip, Matamata/Rewa) with Jack Giddy (Taupo). The final, played at Omanu Bowling Club, was won by the Tauranga South pair 15-11.

The Men's and Women's Singles are being played in Tauranga this weekend. There are 62 entries in the Men's tournament which will be played at Mount Maunganui (HQ), Omokoroa, Gate Pa, and Te Puke. The Men's final will be played at the Mount Maunganui Greens, probably at 9am on Monday 3 December. There are 28 entries in the women's event at Tauranga South with the final probably to be played abut 4pm on Sunday.

Cricket: Mini World Cup

The Bay of Plenty Cricket Mini World Cup Champion of Champions will be fought out at Boord Park in Rotorua on Thursday. The Baywide Final will bring together the regional winners from Rotorua and Taupo, along with the top two from the 16-team Western Bay competition.

The Mini World Cup was initiated by Bay of Plenty Cricket eight years ago, to introduce Year 5 and 6 pupils to the enjoyment of the game. To give the competition an international cricket flavour, all teams represent a cricketing nation.

The Western Bay final stanza was taken out by Kenya (Pillans Point School), who defeated Pakistan (Bethlehem College) to hold aloft the Western Bay Mini World Cup trophy. Batting first, Kenya posted a large target when they reached 58/3. The Kenya team bowlers then won the battle between batsmen and bowlers to dismiss Pakistan for 37.

Both Pillans Point and Bethlehem College will represent the Western Bay of Plenty, as they attempt to keep the prestigious primary school cricket trophy in the Bay.

In other Primary School cricket news, Tauranga Intermediate started their defence of the New Zealand Cup in Palmerston North yesterday. They will meet the regional winners from three other regions in the country to find the 2012 New Zealand Cup champions.

Cricket: Schools event

Katikati College came from fifth place in the Western BOP Secondary School First XI competition to grab the last place in the semifinals, when they defeated Tauranga Boys' College Third XI on Saturday.

Batting first Katikati reached 166/8 with Jacob Morton leading the way with his side's top score of 63. The Katikati bowlers then took control to remove Tauranga Boys' for 127, to clinch the last semifinal spot.

Bethlehem College finished top of the standings when they won a thriller against Otumoetai College. A half-century from Otumoetai batsman Chris Charlton helped his side through to 187/9. Bethlehem College went down to the wire in reply, getting home with just two wickets to spare. Scott Wilson and Tim Klyen took three wickets apiece in the Otumoetai bowling attack.

Trident cruised to victory over Aquinas College to grab a home semifinal this Saturday against Katikati College, while Bethlehem College will play Otumoetai College for the second successive week.

WBOPCA Secondary School 1st XI results

Katikati College 166/8 (J Morton 63, M Telford 24no) defeated Tauranga Boys College 3rd XI 127 (B Gilroy 2/14)

Trident HS 273/7 (B Wilde 76, P Thickpenny 59, W Molony 52) defeated Aquinas College 177/9

Otumoetai College 187/9 (C Charlton 53, C Raleigh 2/28) lost to Bethlehem College 190/8 (M Cole 42, C Johnston 37, T Rutherford 25; C Wilson 3/33, T Klyen 3/39).

Season Honours

Batting: 195 runs Pip Thickpenny (Trident HS) HS 136; 146 runs Vaughan Wilson (Otumoetai College) HS 67; 114 runs Patrick Davenport (Bethlehem College) HS 105; 108 runs Chris Charlton (Otumoetai College) HS 53; 100 runs Brody Gilroy (Katikati College) HS 51.

Bowling: 10 wickets Tom Casey (Trident HS) BB 5/14; 9 wickets Tim Klyer (Otumoetai College) BB 3/39; 6 wickets Dylan Wadsworth (Bethlehem College) BB 4/11; 6 wickets Scott Wilson (Otumoetai College) BB 3/33; 6 wickets Chris Johnston (Bethlehem College) BB 3/33.

Golf: Young champs

The Te Puke brothers Charlie and Harry Hillier were big winners at the Bay Age Groups played over 36 holes at Omokoroa last Sunday.

Harry won the Under 14 Boys title whilst older brother Charlie took the Under 16s plus the over-all title. There were nearly 70 golfers from Bay of Plenty and Waikato taking part.


Girls Gross: Alanna Campbell 150, Erikah Waiariki 156, Zoe Huang 162.

Girls Stableford: Tyla Paul 90, Poppy Brown 89, Emma Lee Morrell 83.

Boys Under 14; Gross: Harry Hillier 153, Shaun Campbell 154, Isaac Lee 155, Ruben Clinton 161, Jordan Woodall 168.

Stableford: James Golding 91, Jackson Curie 82, Mathew Fairweather 74 Liam McFarlane 73.

Boys Under 16; Gross: Charlie Hillier 142, Jake Meenhorst 147, Henry Spring 151, Tyler King 152, Ryan Coxon 155.

Stableford: Sam Vincent 82, Sam McGovern 82, Josh Wilson 77, Andrew Jackson 76, Jordan Samuels 76.

Boys Under 19; Gross: Bailey Smith 144, Jordan Golding 145, Joshua Rookes 146, Tawera Williams 150, Howard Maxwell 151.

Stableford: Jordan Holmes 78, Sean Blomquist 78, Chris Charlton 75, Jordi Langton 75, Ben Murray 74.

Soccer: WaiBOP clash

On Sunday 2nd December, WaiBOP are hosting another Women's National League game at Links Avenue, Mount Maunganui at 1pm. We would love to see a huge crowd there to support our team.

This is sure to be a very competitive game as the winner makes the semifinals and the loser is out of the competition.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 23 May 2017 10:21:39 Processing Time: 703ms