Cricket: Tauranga take cup honours

By Greg Taipari

Tauranga have locked away the Attrill Cup for the season despite losing their final round match to last year's champions Eastern Bay United.

Inspirational captain Jono Boult was a standout for the team contributing with bat and ball in both of the team's two matches on Ferguson Park at the weekend.

On Saturday, the Western Bay side took on their neighbours Mt Maunganui/Te Puke who compiled what they would have considered a defendable 191, thanks to a well-struck 50 from Mitch McCann and 40 from Daniel Hill. Boult contributed with 2/46 but it was Sean Davey who did the most damage with the ball grabbing 3/19 in his 10 over spell with the ball.

However, Joe Carter showed some beautiful strokes to score an unbeaten 89not out to guide his team to 192/3. He was helped in his effort, with a well struck 40 from Tom MacRury.

Tauranga would have been feeling reasonably confident heading into Sunday's match against Eastern Bay United to take a clean sweep of the Attrill Cup tournament. But United are never a team to be taken lightly.

Batting first Tauranga posted 131 all out with Boult top scoring with 32 and Tommy Clout contributing with 27. United all rounder Dean Butterworth went to work on the Tauranga batters picking 3/48 with Campbell Thomas 2/17 and Joel Mathews 2/33 also adding to Tauranga's batting woes.

The total was never going to be enough with Butterworth hitting 24 not out and Scott Steward top scoring with 35, United were able to run down the total for the loss of four wickets.

Rotorua had the opportunity to sneak past Tauranga for the cup after beating United on the Saturday, but fell short with a loss against Mount Maunganui the following day.

Batting first, United scored 140 with Alex Yates 32, top scoring and Scott Steward getting a start with 20. Rotorua's Jason Trembath was the best of the bowlers 3/32, with Ben Watkinson 2/8 and Prashant Dhanjee 2/20.

In reply, Rotorua scored 141/4 with Julian Danby top scoring with 49 and captain Peter Wood also contributing with 31. James Boyd was the best of the United bowlers with figures of 2/27.

On Sunday, Rotorua couldn't overcome a spirited Mount side who posted 190/9 with Tai Bridgeman-Raison 34, Jeremy Bates 36 and Mitch McCan 30 all contributing with the bat. Dhanjee 3/33 was the best of the Rotorua bowlers with Ben Blackett 2/47 also chipping in. Unfortunately Rotorua had no answer with the bat being bowled out for 86. Trembath was the only batter to get a start with 24. Mount's Tong Goodin was almost unplayable, racking up 4/30.

All the competitors return to their club teams to continue with the Bay of Plenty Cup getting back underway on Saturday.

Attrill Cup, October 27-28

October 27: Mount Maunganui/Te Puke 191 (Mitch McCann 50, Daniel Hill 40, Jeremy Bates 28; Sean Davey 3/19, Jono Boult 2/46) lost to Tauranga 192/3 (Joe Carter 89no, Tom MacRury 40)

Eastern Bay of Plenty 140 (Alex Yates 32, Scott Steward 20; Jason Trembath 3/32, Ben Watkinson 2/8, Prashant Dhanjee 2/20) lost to Rotorua 141/4 (Julian Danby 49 Peter Woods 31; James Boyd 2/27)

October 28: Tauranga 131 (Jono Boult 32, Tommy Clout 27; Dean Butterworth 3/48, Campbell Thomas 2/17 Joel Mathews 2/33) lost to Eastern Bay of Plenty 132/4 (Scott Steward 35, D Butterworth 24no; J Boult 2/23) Mount Maunganui/Te Puke 190/9 (Tai Bridgeman-Raison 34, Jeremy Bates 36, Mitch McCann 30; Prashant Dhanjee 3/33, Ben Blackett 2/47) defeated Rotorua 86 (Jason Trembath 24; Tong Goodin 4/30, J Bates 2/26).

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 29 Mar 2017 23:45:32 Processing Time: 307ms