Cricket: Rotorua can still steal Attrill Cup

By Greg Taipari

The Rotorua Attrill Cup cricket team will be looking for a repeat performance but with a different result when they play their last two games for the prized trophy.

Despite going up against a Tauranga team stacked with regional and national representatives, Rotorua almost pulled off the first upset of the season at Ray Boord Park last weekend.

After setting a reasonable target of 209 all out, thanks to a captain's knock of 39 from Peter Wood as well as contributions from Lilesh Solanki (38) and Kane Spiers (24), Rotorua had the Tauranga side on the ropes with six wickets down and just over 70 runs on the board.

Tauranga can thank Black Caps bowler Trent Boult who grabbed two wickets for 33 before combining with former Canterbury player Corey Anderson (47 not out) to score a defiant 17 not out to take his team to victory.

Although Tauranga and Mt Maunganui/Te Puke both have a hand each on the cup. Rotorua still have a chance of stealing the silverware if they can win their last two matches against Eastern Bay of Plenty (tomorrow) and Mt Maunganui/Te Puke (Sunday) providing the two Western Bay teams drop a game each.

Rotorua's first game should be a bit of a grudge match with the Whakatane side taking the Attrill Cup away from Rotorua last season in a low scoring match.

The team travel to Tauranga tomorrow and Sunday for their final two matches and have the services of the same playing 11 from last week.

There is extra motivation to perform well for the four teams with the Bay of Plenty selectors announcing the Fergus Hickey team after the conclusion of play on Sunday afternoon.


Tomorrow: Tauranga v Mt Maunganui/Te Puke, Ferguson Park 1; Eastern Bay of Plenty v Rotorua, Ferguson Park 3. Sunday; Tauranga v Eastern Bay of Plenty, Ferguson Park 1; Mt Maunganui/Te Puke v Rotorua, Ferguson Park 3.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 27 Apr 2017 06:14:47 Processing Time: 448ms