Te Puke desperate for points from Whaka clash

Despite the distractions of finalising the Steamers NPC squad, the Baywide club competition will rumble on this week.
Baywide competition leaders Whakarewarewa get the chance to extend their winning run in 2007 when they take on third-placed Te Puke Sports at Puarenga Park tomorrow.
The visitors need some points - any will do - from the game to cement a place in the playoffs.
Whakarewarewa are looking for consecutive win No 17. A continuation of the form they showed a week ago against Rotoiti should bring it.
Fourth-placed Rotoiti are in a similar position when they travel to meet second-placed Tauranga Sports.
With the Lakesiders and Te Puke meeting in the competition's final round, bonus or scoring points earned during the next 160 minutes may be needed to decide the top four.
Mount Maunganui figure in the calculations. They lost two points this week for playing a player out of order earlier in the season.
However, they have appealed the decision, with the appeal to be heard next week.
They are just five points behind Rotoiti and have games with Rangataua and Tauranga Sports respectively to come.
The division one competition is more conjested with either Kahukura, Greerton Marist, Waikite or Rangiuru in position to join Whakatane Marist and Sports Opotiki in the top-four.
The lucky quartet here all win a prize as they traditionally join the premier clubs for the first round next season.
Greerton host Opotiki, Kahukura travel to Arataki and Rangiuru meet Waikite in crucial head-to-heads while Whakatane play bottom of the table Ngongotaha in Rotorua.
Baywide try-scorers: Matt Hodson (Tauranga Sport) 16; Alan Jarvis-Cook (Te Puke) 14; Trent Vatselias (Whaka) 13; Teu Nafe (Whaka) 12; Siegfried Fisiihoi (Whaka) 12; Aaron Rameka (Whaka) 10; Wayne Hughson (Te Puke) 10; Aliki Kisina (Whaka) 10.
Tomorrow's draw:
Premier (2.45pm): Whakarewarewa v Te Puke Sports, Puarenga Park; Te Puna v Te Teko, Maramatanga Park; Mount Maunganui v Rangataua, Blake Park; Tauranga Sports v Rotoiti, Tauranga Domain.
Division one (2.45pm): Waikite v Greerton Marist, Bellvue Road; Opotiki Sports v Ngongotaha, Opotiki Reserve; Arataki v Whakatane Marist; Grenada Park; Rangiuru v Kahukura, Jamieson Oval.
Division two (2.45pm): Marist St Michaels v Poroporo, Marist Park; Kawerau v Edgecumbe, Firmin Field; Papamoa v Matata, Gordon Spratt Reserve; Judea v Reporoa, Maharaia Winiata Park.
Division three (2.45pm unless specified): Matakana Island v Murupara, Matakana Island 1pm; Taneatua v Ruatoki, Taneatua Domain; Galatea v Eastern Districts, Galatea Domain; Eastern Pirates v Paroa, Neil Hunt Park.
Colts (1pm) Top eight: Rotoiti v Whakarewarewa, Emery Park; Te Puna v Rangataua, Maramatanga Park; Mount Maunganui v Waikite, Blake Park; Tauranga Sports v Te Teko, Tauranga Domain.

Consolation: Greerton Marist v Kahukura, Greerton Park; Arataki v Ngongotaha, Grenada Park; Te Puke Sports the bye.
Western Bay championship semifinals: Mount Maunganui v Tauranga Sports, Blake Park 1pm; Rangataua v Greerton Marist, Te Ariki Park 2.45pm.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 24 May 2017 15:49:45 Processing Time: 603ms