Athletics: Hamilton City Hawks pair soar

By Athletics

1 comment
Sally Gibbs competed at the Waikato  Road Running and Walking Championships held in Tauranga. Photo / File
Sally Gibbs competed at the Waikato Road Running and Walking Championships held in Tauranga. Photo / File

Camille Buscomb and Tim Stewart gave Hamilton City Hawks the double at the Waikato Road Running and Walking Championships at the Tauranga industrial estate on Saturday.

Run on a smooth surface in breezy conditions, the course found a lot of favour with the runners. Based on Whakakake St, Hotuhotu St and Taurikura Drive, it was the gradual incline up the last mentioned into the breeze that tested the runners.

Buscomb was challenged by Tauranga's Sally Gibbs early in the women's race before she lost contact, and the New Zealand road and cross-country champion dominated the race, winning the 10km in 34 minutes 34 seconds from Gibbs, who recorded 36 minutes 27 seconds.

In the men's race, Stewart won comfortably from Lake City's Steven O'Callaghan, in 31 minutes 57 seconds, with Hamilton City Hawkes pair Jai Davies Campbell third in 32:28 and Jacob Priddey 4th in 32:36.

Corban Crowther gave Tauranga Ramblers an early win with the boys' 12, 2km title in 7:08, while Ian Pugh, 7:50, and Elliot Pugh, 8:08, were first and second in the boys' 10.

Abby Lane (Tauranga Intermediate), 8:18, and Millie Quinn (Bethlehem College) 8:47 were second and third in the girls' 12, 2km. Lucy Lloyd (Bellevue), 8:51, and Kyra Addison (Tauranga Ramblers), 10:01, were first and second in the girls' 10, 2km.

Arleah Tippins and Mia Pugh (Tauranga Ramblers) were first and second in the girls' 14, 3km in 11:46 and 12:14 with Tabatha Marshall (Tauranga Girls' College) third in 12:42. Greerton's Lachlan Haycock won the boys' 14, 3km in 10:50, with Josh Stewart (Tauranga Boys') second, 11:11, and Josh Tisch (Ramblers) third, 11:16.

Maddison Rennie (Tauranga Ramblers), 18:55, was second to Emerson Deverall (Hamilton City Hawks) 18:19, in the under-18 women. Jessica Bitcheno (Tauranga Ramblers) 21:16 was second to Tahlia Horgan (Hamilton City Hawks), 19:24, in the women under 20.

Auckland's Sacha Daniels was the first Masters men 40, in 34:34 from Kent Hodgson (Hamilton City Hawks), 34:38, and Lake City's Tony Broadhead third in 34:41. John Crane (Hamilton City Hawks) dominated the Masters 50+ in 34:43.

Tauranga Ramblers age-group medallists:

Iris Hansen, who won the MW70 5km, 43:00, and in the 10km won by Russell Lake MM40, 36:19. In other races, John Caie MM45, 35:50, came third, Gavin Smith MM60, 40:39, first, Stu Smith MM60, 44:02, second, Max Ball MM55, 44:39, second, Dennis Madden MM60, 44:56, third, Robin Reed MM65, 45:34, second, Murray Clarkson MM65, 46:55, third, Robert McPherson MM70, 50:53, first and Sid Pavett MM80, 59:57, first.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Have your say

We aim to have healthy debate. But we won't publish comments that abuse others. View commenting guidelines.

1200 characters left

Sort by
  • Oldest

© Copyright 2015, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 05 Aug 2015 22:44:31 Processing Time: 512ms