Cricket: Award for Hampton icing on sweet season

By Barry Leabourn

Add a comment
Tom MacRury, of Greerton, looks a real prospect at the top of the order. Photo/File
Tom MacRury, of Greerton, looks a real prospect at the top of the order. Photo/File

Brett Hampton has won the Bay of Plenty Cricket 2013/14 Player of the Year Award.

The Bay of Plenty and Northern Knights all-rounder performed with distinction for the Bay first eleven all season.

Hampton was named winner at the BOPCA Prizegiving at the Bay Oval Pavilion, Mount Maunganui, on Saturday.

His class was shown in two 2014 encounters with Bay of Plenty's arch-rivals Hamilton.

In the successful Hawke Cup defence against the Waikato side, he anchored his team's innings with 103 thanks in large part to a 10th-wicket 63-run partnership with Tommy Clout.

Five wickets in the Bay's Fergus Hickey Rosebowl two-day victory testified to Hampton's all-round skills with bat and ball.

Black Cap Kane Williamson was awarded the Bay of Plenty First Class Player of the Year trophy.

He scored 1331 runs in all three forms of the game for New Zealand, highlighted by his majestic 578 runs in test cricket at an average of 52.5.

The Bay of Plenty Women's Player of the Year trophy was presented to Kate Anderson.

Anderson has represented the Northern Spirit under-21 team and captained the Bay women on a couple of occasions. She is handy with the bat and took five wickets against ND women's heavyweights Hamilton.

Three senior men's trophies recognised the achievements of former high-profile Bay of Plenty players.

The Mike Wright batting prize went to Tom MacRury, who blasted 432 runs, including two centuries against Poverty Bay. Tony Goodin took the Derek Beard bowling trophy for the second successive year, with MacRury also winning the Brendan Bracewell most promising player award.

Anna Peterson took the BOPCA Women's batting prize, and Tia Robinson the bowling honours. The Mike Nitz Most Promising Women's Player Award went to Macy Adams.

The Bay of Plenty Development batting honours went to Cameron Neal, with Andrew Gibbs winning the bowling award.

The Alan Cotter Services to Cricket Award went to Lyn Govenstock for her work in administration of junior cricket.

Ross Ladyman took the Peter Wright Services to Umpiring Trophy, and Peter Swan the David Johnston Services to Coach Award.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 26 Mar 2017 09:28:09 Processing Time: 561ms