Port and chief may load up on awards

By Genevieve Helliwell

The Port of Tauranga and its leading man have been nominated for prestigious awards that recognise the country's outstanding businesses and individuals.

The port is a finalist in the Company of the Year and its chief executive Mark Cairns is up for the Executive of the Year in the Deloitte/Management Magazine Top 200 Awards.

The port has also been nominated for the Most Improved Performance award.

The awards, established in 1990, are run annually to recognise and applaud outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand's largest companies and trading organisations.

The finalists are selected from the 2012 Top 200 Companies list.

Mr Cairns was one of three people nominated in the Executive of the Year category.

He will take on Dean Bracewell, managing director of Freightways Group, and Simon Challies, managing director of Ryman Healthcare.

The winner will be announced in Auckland on November 29.

Challenging the Port of Tauranga for Company of the Year are Ryman Healthcare and Trade Me Group.

Mr Cairns attributed the company's success to the "excellent work of everybody at the port, including staff and contractors".

"I'm really chuffed with the [chief executive nomination] but I'm more excited about the company of the year and the most improved nominations and I'm privileged to lead the team of great people at the port."

Meanwhile, Port of Tauranga chairman John Parker was last night awarded a Beacon award from the New Zealand Shareholders Association for leadership and guidance on corporate practice.

Mr Parker has a broad background in business and farming, holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science degree, and graduated from the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard.

He joined the Port of Tauranga Board in 1996.

Mr Parker said he was honoured to win the award.

- Bay of Plenty Times

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 28 May 2017 05:23:50 Processing Time: 511ms