Calculations for a rain affected game decided the Gillette Cup national secondary schoolboys cricket competition elimination match between Wairarapa College and Rathkeale College on Saturday with Wairarapa College being declared the winners by 12 runs.
Batting first, Wairarapa College reached a healthy 297-4 with captain Robbie Anderson leading the way with a splendid 116 and opener Chris Wendon falling just three runs short of the century mark for 97.
Also making useful contributions were Joe Beech (34) and Daniel Ingham (21 not out).
Rathkeale in reply had reached 157-6 when rain finally stopped play.
Cole Eru was unbeaten on 68 with Jamie Holmes having made 32 and H. Greenwood 26.
Quentin McKenna and Sean Jarvis had each taken two wickets for Wairarapa College.