Stratford Superstock competitor Mitch Vickery again showed how good he can be at using his front bumper when he won the Gary Adamson Superstock stirrers memorial at Stratford Speedway on Saturday night.

Vickery used his bumper to good effect, wasn't selective of his targets and was just a general pain on the track to his fellow competitors, which is what earned him the memorial trophy for the third consecutive year.

Hamish Booker managed to evade Vickery to record an eighth, second and first place to win the John Adamson Memorial awarded to the highest points scorer. Carl Shearer was second and Neville Nolly third overall in the 25-car field.

A large field of Youth Ministocks contested the Repco Youth Ministock Spectacular. Split into two groups, the young competitors, who are all aged between 12 and 16, had to first qualify before they could race in the Spectacular finals.


After the two final heats, Tauranga driver Luke McClymont and Stratford front runner Jesse Whelan were tied on points for first place. McClymont beat Whelan in a run off to take the win, with Whelan second and Rotorua competitor Mitch Fabish third.

The competitors who didn't qualify for the main event raced in the second tier and this was won by Tyler Wadsworth from William Campbell and Mason Ward.

The Saloon class raced for the Sam Korff Memorial on the night and included visiting Tauranga racer Trent Amrein in the starting line-up.

Jarrod Macbeth won the first race from a grid one start and Thomas Korff won race two but it was Amrein's win from the back of the grid in race three that impressed and secured his overall victory and position on the top step of the podium.

MacBeth was second and Thomas Korff was third, beating his father Craig in a four lap run off after the pair were tied on points for the last podium spot.

Supporting classes on the night were Stockcars and Streetstocks. Shane Hurliman convincingly won race one for the Stockcar class while Emilio Hatcher continued his recently found good form to win race two.

Mitch Vickery won race three. Streetstock races were won by Steve Reed and Paul Blinkhorne, the latter carrying the chequered flag twice.

Stratford competitors had good success at Whanganui Speedway on the same night with Bradley Korff winning the West Coast Adult Ministock Champs ahead of Ryan Nolly and Craig Mason while Chris Bagrie won the West Coast Midget Champs from Mark Willans and Jimmy Greenough.


The next race meeting at Stratford Speedway is this coming Saturday and will feature the popular Under 23 Stockcar Champs, Taranaki Superstock Champs, Taranaki Saloon Champs and the Taranaki TQ Champs.