The annual NRM Northern Roller Mills Rugby Tournament was hosted by the Taranaki Rugby Football Union at Yarrows Stadium last week.

The tournament is the second oldest provincial rugby tournament in New Zealand, behind the Ranfurly Shield, with boys aged 12 and 13 from around the North Island representing their union.

It was a tough competition with some of New Zealand's best up and coming talent taking the field. Taranaki player Logan Mitchell made an impression and was named in the NRM Northern Roller Mills Rugby Tournament team. Photos of the action have been provided to the Stratford Press by Kathryn Mischefski.

- Results:


9th/10th King Country 19 Thames Valley 5. 7th/8th Waikato 55 Taranaki 22. 5th/6th Counties Manukau 26 North Harbour 22. 3rd/4th Northland 53 Auckland West 12. 1st/2nd Auckland East 17 BOP 7.