Craig Lautenslager and Sally Gibbs won the New Zealand mens and womens 10,000m titles in Inglewood on Saturday evening.

With dominant displays, taking the lead from the gun and both running a relentless pace, neither were in doubt in their respective races.

Lautenslager (Tasman) had Michael Voss for company for the early laps, but the Waikato athlete could not hold on to the tough pace and faded to sixth place by the end of the race.

The 24 year old from Nelson continued a persistent pace, knocking out the early kilometres in under three minutes and although the early speed took its toll later in the race, Lautenslager continued and took out the title in 29:51.97.

The title adds to Lautenslagers growing list of New Zealand championship titles, having also picked up the national cross country and half marathon titles in 2017 since returning from a scholarship in the USA.

The minor placings in the senior grade went to Auckland pairing of Jonathan Jackson and Ciaran Faherty.

Second fastest across all grades was Christopher Dryden from Canterbury, picking up the under 20 title in a smart personal best of 30:59.59, just 19.59 outside the World Junior Championships selection standard.

Josh Tisch and Bradyn Popow filled the minor placings up the under 20 event.

Sally Gibbs, a phenomenal 54 year old, retained her 10,000m title to claim her sixth New Zealand senior championship win, all claimed since turning 48.

She struck out from the gun and had a 40m lead on the chasers after the first of 25 laps. She continued to increase the lead for the duration of the race, crossing the finish line in 36:22.10, 16 seconds faster than last years win and over a minute clear of second placed Ayesha Shafi with Aucklands Alannah Van Hout in third.


Senior Men

1 Craig Lautenslager Tasman 29:51.97

2 Jonathan Jackson Auckland 31:07.02

3 Ciaran Faherty Auckland 31:30.45

Senior Women

1 Sally Gibbs Waikato BoP 36:22.10

2 Ayesha Shafi Wellington 37:28.71

3 Alannah Van Hout Auckland 38:42.97

Under 20 Men

1 Christopher Dryden Canterbury 30:59.59

2 Josh Tisch Waikato BoP 38:26.79

3 Bradyn Popow Manawatu/Wanganui 39:24.70

Masters Men

1 Wayne Guest Whangamata 33:22.13

2 Albie Jane Taranaki 48:41.89

Masters Women

1 Joy Baker Taranaki 54:59.39

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand