The Channel Nine commentary box will be joined by an Ashes superstar this summer - and no, he's not an Aussie.

Kevin Pietersen - who is a regular in the Australian Big Bash for the Melbourne Stars - will join Michael Slater, James Brayshaw, Ian Healy and the rest of the Wide World of Sports team to cover the incoming summer of cricket.

Pietersen announced his new network deal on Twitter after rumours surrounded his future as a commentator.

The call came after Michael Hussey and Brett Lee departed from the commentary team on the eve of the summer.


"As part of Nine's stronger and deeper relationship with Cricket Australia, Wide World of Sports is providing Michael Hussey to host and report for Cricket Australia's digital platforms this summer," said Nine's director of sport, Tom Malone.

"Mike will provide the link between Nine's commentary team and the Cricket Australia digital content.

"Brett Lee's new business interests and young family are taking up increasing amounts of Brett's time and there isn't the space to squeeze in his commentary commitments as well.

"Both Brett and Mike are well respected and much liked members of the Nine family.

"They've made great contributions to our broadcasts and we hope to work closely with them again in the future."

Pakistani great Waqar Younis was also rumoured to make an appearance alongside Pietersen, but it is not yet confirmed if the swing king will be joining the box.

The only question is, will Pietersen be favouring the Aussies or his native homeland of South Africa in the Test series?

Australia have a lot of work to do after being blitzed 5-0 against the Proteas in their ODI tour earlier this month with an impending Test team overhaul on the cards as well.

The Australian unit earned an accolade no team ever wants to have after losing in Cape Town this week.

The series completed an ugly trio of errors for Australia, making it their third whitewash loss across all three formats of the game this year.

The first came in January against India in the home T20I series, while the second came against Sri Lanka in their 3-0 thrashing on their Test tour of the subcontinent.

The first Test begins on November 3rd at the WACA at 1:30pm (AEST).