Three things about the All Blacks side to face Argentina on Sunday.

Perenara gets to start

TJ Perenara will make his fifth start for the All Blacks in what will be his 24th test. The last time he started was against Namibia at last year's Rugby World Cup when he played 47 minutes, before being replaced by Tawera Kerr-Barlow. Despite making most of his test appearances off the bench, Perenara has proven he can almost go the distance. He played 78 minutes in a test start against Scotland in 2014. Two weeks earlier he started against the USA in Chicago and wasn't subbed until the 71st minute. He also started against Argentina last year in Christchurch and played 70 minutes.

All Black number 1154

Damian McKenzie has been picked in a matchday 23 for the first time and will become All Black number 1154 when he makes his expected test debut from the bench. He will be the 21st player from Christ's College in Christchurch, moving equal fifth with Southland Boys' High on the list of schools to produce to most All Blacks (across town rivals Christchurch Boys' High sit second with 43).

Should he make the field, McKenzie will be the second player from the 2014 New Zealand under-20s side to debut for the All Blacks this season following Anton Lienert-Brown who will start on Sunday.


Most capped lock

If Sam Whitelock comes off the bench as expected, he will play his 80th test and become the most capped All Blacks lock in history, overtaking Ian Jones. Meanwhile, Owen Franks will play his 85th test, while All Blacks captain Kieran Read will play his 92nd test, becoming the eighth-equal most capped All Black of all time.

The matchday 23 is (with test caps in brackets:

1. Joe Moody (17)
2. Dane Coles (43)
3. Owen Franks (84)
4. Patrick Tuipulotu (9)
5. Brodie Retallick (54)
6. Liam Squire (3)
7. Ardie Savea (6)
8. Kieran Read - capt (91)
9. TJ Perenara (23)
10. Beauden Barrett (43)
11. Julian Savea (47)
12. Ryan Crotty (21)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (3)
14. Israel Dagg (55)
15. Ben Smith (55)

16. Codie Taylor (8)
17. Wyatt Crockett (52)
18. Ofa Tu'ungafasi (1)
19. Samuel Whitelock (79)
20. Elliot Dixon (1)
21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (21)
22. Lima Sopoaga (3)
23. Damian McKenzie