Warriors front-rower Jacob Lillyman has been named in the Queensland side for the second State of Origin match, after Nate Myles was ruled out with a knee injury.

Lillyman was 18th man for Queensland's 6-4 game one victory at ANZ Stadium last month and comes in as the only change to the Maroons for the match at Suncorp Stadium on June 22.

Myles, who made his 30th Origin appearance in the series opener, is expected to undergo surgery after departing play early on in Manly's NRL loss to Penrith on Sunday.

Queensland coach Kevin Walters says Lillyman was the obvious choice to replace Myles.


"He was unlucky to miss out after his performance in game three last year," said Walters.

"We like to reward those who've done the job before in the jersey."

The 32-year-old prop is set to make his 12th Origin appearance but Walters was unsure if he will directly replace Myles in the starting side or whether he will promote another one of his bench forwards.

Queensland are also sweating on the fitness of North Queensland quartet Michael Morgan, Justin O'Neill, Johnathan Thurston and Matt Scott, who face Cronulla on Monday night in the final NRL fixture of round 14.

Lillyman has been a reliable performer at club level despite the Warriors inconsistent start to the season, averaging close to 120 metres and 30 tackles in 50 minutes per outing.

Buoyed from his time in the Queensland camp, the 32-year-old returned to Auckland and scored his first try in 78 games in last week's morale-boosting win over Brisbane.

He followed up with an impressive performance in Saturday's 50-14 rout of Newcastle, leading the forwards with 153 metres from 17 carries, and providing a tip-on pass to put fellow prop Albert Vete over for the opening try.

"The big challenge for us after that Brisbane game was backing it up," Lillyman said.

"We really went out there and continued to play with that attacking flair and managed to score a few points."

Queensland: Darius Boyd, Corey Oates, Greg Inglis, Justin O'Neill, Dane Gagai, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith (capt), Jacob Lillyman, Matt Gillett, Sam Thaiday, Corey Parker. Interchange: Michael Morgan, Josh McGuire, Aidan Guerra, Josh Papalii.

- with AAP